.
Skip to content.
Skip to content.
Meetings Calendar 2006
January
.
February
.
March
.
April
.
May
.
June
.
March
  Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su  
 
.
.
1
.
2
.
3
.
4
.
5
.
 
  6
.
7
.
8
.
9
.
10
.
11
.
12
.
 
  13
.
14
.
15
.
16
.
17
.
18
.
19
.
 
  20
.
21
.
22
.
23
.
24
.
25
.
26
.
 
  27
.
28
.
29
.
30
.
31
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

The Internal Market

 

“The internal market shall comprise an area without internal frontiers in which the free movement of goods, persons, services and capital is ensured.”

 

1958    1987    1989    1992    1993    1994    1995

1958

The EEC Treaty creates a supranational community of States with the aim of establishing a common market. The purpose of the common market/internal market is to achieve the goals enshrined in the EEC/EC Treaty (in particular the four freedoms: free movement of goods, persons, services and capital).

 

1987

The Single European Act sets a specific target date for completion of the internal market: 31 December 1992. The political basis for this Treaty amendment is the European Commission’s White Paper of 14 June 1985. The White Paper proposes creating a number of instruments to complete the internal market, in particular the extension of decision-making by majority vote in the Council. In addition, the principle of mutual recognition is introduced on an equal footing with the harmonisation of legal provisions.

 

1989

Jacques Delors, the President of the European Commission, launches a new initiative in a speech to the European Parliament, designed to include the EFTA countries wishing to join the European Economic Community (EEC) in the internal market project. A European Economic Area (EEA) is to be created to enable the EFTA countries to participate in the internal market.

 

1992

The Agreement on the European Economic Area is signed.

 

1993

The internal market, which is the basis for economic and monetary union, is largely completed by 1 January 1993. Work on fully achieving the aims of the internal market, i.e. the establishment of the four freedoms and the elimination of barriers to trade, continues.

 

1994

The EEA enters into force. The four fundamental freedoms are implemented and extended to the EFTA countries Austria, Sweden, Finland, Norway and Iceland. Following a no vote in a referendum, Switzerland abandons its plan to join the EEA. Liechtenstein joins the EEA in 1995.

The four freedoms are:

  • Free movement of goods
    Establishment of a customs union, elimination of all quantitative barriers
  • Free movement of persons
    Free movement of labour, freedom of establishment
  • Free movement of services
    Freedom to exercise professions in other Member States
  • Free movement of capital
    Movements of capital between Member States may not be subject to restrictions.

 

1995

The EFTA countries Austria, Sweden and Finland join the EU. The remaining EFTA countries are: Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland. Liechtenstein becomes party to the EEA Agreement on 1 May 1995.

back

 

 

Date: 30.12.2005

.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Tagungskalender 2006
Jänner
.
Februar
.
März
.
April
.
Mai
.
Juni
.
März
  Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So  
 
.
.
1
.
2
.
3
.
4
.
5
.
 
  6
.
7
.
8
.
9
.
10
.
11
.
12
.
 
  13
.
14
.
15
.
16
.
17
.
18
.
19
.
 
  20
.
21
.
22
.
23
.
24
.
25
.
26
.
 
  27
.
28
.
29
.
30
.
31
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Der Binnenmarkt

 

„Der Binnenmarkt ist ein Raum ohne Binnengrenzen, in dem der freie Verkehr von Waren, Personen, Dienstleistungen und Kapital gewährleistet ist. “

 

1958    1987    1989    1992    1993    1994    1995

 

1958

Der EWG-Vertrag begründet eine überstaatliche („supranationale“) Gemeinschaft von Staaten zur Errichtung eines Gemeinsamen Marktes. Der Gemeinsame Markt/Binnenmarkt dient der Erreichung der im EWGV/EGV verankerten Ziele (insbesondere der 4 Grundfreiheiten: freier Waren-, Personen-, Dienstleistungs- und Kapitalverkehr).

 

1987

Die Einheitliche Europäische Akte verpflichtet die Gemeinschaft zur Vollendung des Binnenmarktes bis zu einem konkreten Datum, den 31. Dezember 1992. Politische Grundlage für diese Vertragsänderung ist das Weißbuch der Europäischen Kommission (EK) vom 14. Juni 1985. Darin schlägt die EK die Schaffung von Instrumenten zur Verwirklichung des Binnenmarktes vor, insbesondere die Ausweitung von Mehrheitsentscheidungen im Rat. Weiters soll zum Instrument der Rechtsangleichung gleichberechtigt der Grundsatz der gegenseitigen Anerkennung treten.

 

1989

Zur Einbindung der in die Europäische Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft (EWG) drängenden EFTA-Staaten in das Binnenmarktkonzept, startet EG-Kommissionspräsident Jaques Delors mit einer Rede vor dem Europäischen Parlament eine neue Initiative: Auf Grundlage eines „Europäischen Wirtschaftsraumes“ (EWR) soll den EFTA-Ländern eine Teilnahme am Binnenmarkt ermöglicht werden.

 

1992

Unterzeichnung des Abkommens über den Europäischen Wirtschaftsraum.

 

1993

Der Binnenmarkt, der die Grundlage für die Wirtschafts- und Währungsunion ist, wird mit 1. Jänner 1993 weitgehend verwirklicht. Die Ziele des Binnenmarktes, die Verwirklichung der oben genannten vier Grundfreiheiten und die Abschaffung von Handelshemmnissen, werden kontinuierlich verfolgt.

 

1994

Der EWR tritt in Kraft. Die vier Grundfreiheiten werden verwirklicht und auf die EFTA-Staaten Österreich, Schweden, Finnland, Norwegen und Island ausgedehnt. Die Schweiz ist nach einem negativen Volksentscheid nicht – wie ursprünglich beabsichtigt - dem EWR beigetreten. Liechtenstein tritt 1995 dem EWR bei.

Die vier Freiheiten sind:

  • Freier Warenverkehr
    Errichtung einer Zollunion, Beseitigung aller mengenmäßigen Beschränkungen
  • Freier Personenverkehr
    Freizügigkeit der Arbeitnehmer, Niederlassungsfreiheit
  • Dienstleistungsfreiheit
    Grenzüberschreitende Ausübung selbständiger Erwerbstätigkeiten in anderen Mitgliedstaaten
  • Freier Kapitalverkehr
    Kapitalbewegungen zwischen den Mitgliedstaaten dürfen keinen Beschränkungen unterworfen sein.

 

1995

Die EFTA-Staaten Österreich, Schweden und Finnland treten  der EU bei. Die verbleibenden EFTA-Staaten sind: Island, Norwegen, Liechtenstein, Schweiz. Liechtenstein tritt am 1. Mai 1995 dem EWR-Vertrag bei.

 

nach oben

 

Datum: 29.12.2005