.
Skip to content.
Skip to content.
Meetings Calendar 2006
January
.
February
.
March
.
April
.
May
.
June
.
March
  Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su  
 
.
.
1
.
2
.
3
.
4
.
5
.
 
  6
.
7
.
8
.
9
.
10
.
11
.
12
.
 
  13
.
14
.
15
.
16
.
17
.
18
.
19
.
 
  20
.
21
.
22
.
23
.
24
.
25
.
26
.
 
  27
.
28
.
29
.
30
.
31
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

The Treaties

 
1952 1993
1958 1999
1967 2003
1987 2004

 

1952

Treaty establishing the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC Treaty)
(Treaty of Paris, expired on 23 July 2002)

On 18 April 1951, six countries — Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands — signed the Treaty establishing the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC). The Treaty came into force on 23 July 1952.

The ECSC was the first supranational organisation in Europe’s history. Its objective was to promote and secure common economic development rather than the manufacture of weapons. Article 2 of the ECSC Treaty states: “The European Coal and Steel Community shall have as its task to contribute, in harmony with the general economy of the Member States and through the establishment of a common market (…) to economic expansion, growth of employment and a rising standard of living in the Member States.”

back

1958

Treaty establishing the European Economic Community (EEC Treaty)
Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community (EURATOM Treaty)

On 25 March 1957, six countries — Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands — signed the Treaties establishing the European Economic Community (EEC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (EURATOM), which entered into force on 1 January 1958. The Treaties were signed in the Capitol in Rome, hence the name “Rome Treaties”. The three organisations ECSC, EURATOM and EEC are enshrined in the Treaties. They are supranational in character and together make up the European Communities (EC).

The declared aim of the Treaties is to lay the foundations for an ever closer union among the peoples of Europe. This is to be achieved by:

  • developing common institutions,
  • merging national economies,
  • creating a common market, and
  • developing the peaceful use of nuclear energy (EURATOM)

Article 2 EEC Treaty: “The Community shall have as its task, by establishing a common market and progressively approximating the economic polices of the Member States, to promote throughout the Community a harmonious development of economic activities, a continuous and balanced expansion, an increase in stability, an accelerated raising of the standard of living and closer relations between the States belonging to it.”

back

1967

Merger Treaty (Treaty Establishing a Single Council and a Single Commission of the European Communities)

The Merger Treaty was signed on 8 April 1965 and entered into force on 1 July 1967. The Treaty consolidated the institutional structures: a single Council, a single Commission, a single administration of the Communities and a single budget were established.

Article 9 Merger Treaty: “A Commission of the European Communities (hereinafter called the 'Commission') is hereby established. This Commission shall take the place of the High Authority of the European Coal and Steel Community, the Commission of the European Economic Community and the Commission of the European Atomic Energy Community.”

back

1987

The Single European Act (SEA)

The Single European Act (SEA) was signed on 17 February 1986 in Luxembourg and on 28 February in The Hague. It entered into force on 1 July 1987. The SEA was the first major revision of the Rome Treaties. The main changes it introduced were:

  • gradual creation of the internal market by 31 December 1992;
  • improvement of the functioning of the Community by changes to decision-making procedures, especially qualified majority voting;
  • new powers for the Community, particularly in the areas of regional policy, research and technology policy and environment policy;
  • European Political Cooperation, the forerunner of the European Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP), is for the first time enshrined in the Treaty.

Article 13 SEA: “The internal market shall comprise an area without frontiers in which the free movement of goods, persons, services and capital is ensured in accordance with the provisions of this Treaty.”

back

1993

Treaty on European Union (TEU)

The Treaty of Maastricht was signed by the Ministers of Foreign Affairs and of Finance on 7 February 1992 and entered into force on 1 November 1993. It was the second and most far-reaching revision of the founding Treaties. It created the European Union and thus the possibility to advance in the long term towards political union.

Main changes introduced by the Maastricht Treaty:

  • Creation of the EU as an overarching organisation founded on the three pillars

The three pillars are:

First pillar: EC/Euratom/ECSC

Second pillar: Common Foreign and Security Policy

Third pillar: Cooperation on justice and home affairs

  • Establishment of economic and monetary union by 1999
  • Increased rights for the European Parliament (introduction of the codecision procedure: the European Parliament participates in the legislative process on an equal footing with the Council)
  • The subsidiarity principle and proportionality principle are enshrined in the EC Treaty
  • Creation of Union citizenship.

Article 17 EU Treaty: “Citizenship of the Union is hereby established. Every person holding the nationality of a Member State shall be a citizen of the Union. Citizens of the Union shall enjoy the rights conferred by this Treaty and shall be subject to the duties imposed thereby.”

back

1999

Treaty of Amsterdam

On 2 October 1997 the EU Foreign Ministers signed the Treaty of Amsterdam, which entered into force on 1 May 1999. In addition to substantive amendments, the main editorial changes concern a complete renumbering of the Treaty articles.

Key amendments:

  • Incorporation into the Community of matters relating to asylum, visas, immigration and border controls;
  • Integration of the Schengen acquis into the legal framework of the European Union with the aim of creating an area of freedom, security and justice;
  • Function of High Representative for the Common Foreign and Security Policy created;
  • Introduction of a section on employment policy;
  • Possibility of public meetings of the Council introduced to make EU decision-making more open and closer to the citizen.

The Treaty of Amsterdam states for the first time the principles on which the EU is based:

Article 6 EU Treaty (as amended by the Treaty of Amsterdam): “The Union is founded on the principles of liberty, democracy, respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms, and the rule of law, principles which are common to the Member States. “

back

2003

Treaty of Nice

The Treaty of Nice was signed on 26 February 2001 in Nice and entered into force on 1 February 2003. The aim of the Treaty was to prepare the European institutions for enlargement by ten new Member States.

The institutional changes introduced by the Treaty of Nice mainly concern the extension of qualified majority voting in the Council of the European Union, the nomination and role of the president of the European Commission, the division of jurisdiction between the Court of Justice of the European Communities (CJEC) and the Court of First Instance of the European Communities (CFIEC), and changes to the weighting of votes in the Council. The maximum number of members of the European Parliament was increased from 700 to 732, and provision was made to reduce the size of the Commission following accession of the 27th Member State according to the principle of equal rotation of the post of commissioner among the Member States.

The Treaty amended the provisions on “Enhanced cooperation” to facilitate deeper integration on the part of individual Member States. The main substantive changes include the extension of powers to conclude agreements to trade in services and the commercial aspects of intellectual property. A new legal basis for sanctions against Member States that violate the fundamental principles of the Union was introduced.

The Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union is not an integral part of the Treaty of Nice. It was the subject of a solemn proclamation by the Heads of State or Government in Nice and is not legally binding.

The Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union (Preamble): “The peoples of Europe, in creating an ever closer union among them, are resolved to share a peaceful future based on common values.”

back

2004

Treaty on a Constitution for Europe

On 29 October the Heads of State or Government and the Foreign Ministers of the EU Member States signed the Treaty on a Constitution for Europe in Rome. In order to enter into force, the Constitutional Treaty must be ratified in all Member States. Since the Constitutional Treaty was defeated by a majority of the votes in referenda in France and the Netherlands, it is unclear whether and when the ratification process can be successfully concluded.

back

Date: 31.12.2005

.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Tagungskalender 2006
Jänner
.
Februar
.
März
.
April
.
Mai
.
Juni
.
März
  Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So  
 
.
.
1
.
2
.
3
.
4
.
5
.
 
  6
.
7
.
8
.
9
.
10
.
11
.
12
.
 
  13
.
14
.
15
.
16
.
17
.
18
.
19
.
 
  20
.
21
.
22
.
23
.
24
.
25
.
26
.
 
  27
.
28
.
29
.
30
.
31
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Die Verträge

 

1952 1993
1958 1999
1967 2003
1987 2004

 

1952

Vertrag über die Gründung der „Europäischen Gemeinschaft für Kohle und Stahl“ (EGKS-V)
(Pariser Vertrag, am 23. Juli 2002 ausgelaufen)

Am 18. April 1951 unterzeichnen die sechs Staaten Belgien, Deutschland, Frankreich, Italien, Luxemburg und die Niederlande den Vertrag zur Gründung der „Europäischen Gemeinschaft für Kohle und Stahl“ (EGKS). Am 23. Juli 1952 tritt der Vertrag in Kraft.

Die EGKS stellt die erste supranationale Organisation in der Geschichte Europas dar. Ihr Ziel: Statt der Herstellung von Waffen soll die gemeinsame wirtschaftliche Entwicklung gefördert und gesichert werden. So heißt es in Artikel 2 EGKS-V: „Die Europäische Gemeinschaft für Kohle und Stahl ist dazu berufen, im Einklang mit der Gesamtwirtschaft der Mitgliedstaaten und auf der Grundlage eines gemeinsamen Marktes (…) zur Ausweitung der Wirtschaft, zur Steigerung der Beschäftigung und zur Hebung der Lebenshaltung in den Mitgliedstaaten beizutragen.“

nach oben

1958

Vertrag zur Gründung der „Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft“ (EWG-V)
Vertrag zur Gründung der „Europäischen Atomgemeinschaft“ (EURATOM-V)

Am 25. März 1957 unterzeichnen die sechs Staaten Belgien, Deutschland, Frankreich, Italien, Luxemburg und die Niederlande die Verträge zur Gründung der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft (EWG) und der Europäischen Atomgemeinschaft (EURATOM), die am 1. Jänner 1958 in Kraft treten. Die Unterzeichnung findet auf dem Kapitolshügel in Rom statt. Daher stammt der Name „Römische Verträge“. Alle drei Organisationen EGKS, EURATOM und EWG, die in den Verträgen verankert sind, haben supranationalen Charakter und bilden zusammen die Europäischen Gemeinschaften (EG).

Erklärtes Ziel der Verträge ist die Schaffung eines immer engeren Zusammenschlusses der europäischen Völker. Dies soll durch:

  • die Weiterentwicklung gemeinsamer Institutionen,
  • die schrittweise Fusion der nationalen Wirtschaften,
  • die Schaffung eines gemeinsamen Marktes sowie
  • die Entwicklung der Atomenergie für eine friedliche Verwendung (EURATOM)

geschehen.

Artikel 2 EWG-V: „Aufgabe der Gemeinschaft ist es, durch die Errichtung eines Gemeinsamen Marktes und die schrittweise Annäherung der Wirtschaftspolitik der Mitgliedstaaten eine harmonische Entwicklung des Wirtschaftslebens innerhalb der Gemeinschaft, eine beständige und ausgewogene Wirtschaftsausweitung, eine größere Stabilität, eine beschleunigte Hebung der Lebenshaltung und engere Beziehungen zwischen den Staaten zu fördern, die in dieser Gemeinschaft zusammengeschlossen sind.“

nach oben

1967

Fusionsvertrag (Vertrag zur Einsetzung eines gemeinsamen Rates und einer gemeinsamen Kommission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften)

Der Fusionsvertrag wird am 8. April  1965 unterzeichnet und tritt am 1. Juli 1967 in Kraft. Der Vertrag bringt eine Konsolidierung der institutionellen Strukturen: Ein gemeinsamer Rat, eine gemeinsame Kommission, eine gemeinsame Verwaltung der Gemeinschaften und ein gemeinsamer Haushalt werden geschaffen.

Artikel 9 Fusionsvertrag: „Es wird eine Kommission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften, im folgenden die Kommission genannt, eingesetzt. Diese Kommission tritt an die Stelle der Hohen Behörde der Europäischen Gemeinschaft für Kohle und Stahl, der Kommission der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft und der Kommission der Europäischen Atomgemeinschaft.“

nach oben

1987

Die Einheitliche Europäische Akte (EEA)

Die Einheitliche Europäische Akte (EEA) wird am 17. Februar 1986 in Luxemburg und am 28. Februar in Den Haag unterzeichnet. Sie tritt  am 1. Juli 1987 in Kraft. Die EEA stellt die erste umfangreiche Änderung der Römischen Verträge dar. Zentrale Elemente sind:

  • Schrittweise Realisierung des Binnenmarktes bis zum 31. Dezember 1992
  • Stärkung der Handlungsfähigkeit der Gemeinschaft durch geänderte Entscheidungsverfahren, insbesondere qualifizierte Mehrheitsentscheidungen
  • Die Gemeinschaft erhält neue Zuständigkeiten, besonders in der Regionalpolitik, Forschungs- und Technologiepolitik sowie Umweltpolitik
  • Von besonderer Wichtigkeit ist auch die rechtliche Verankerung der „Europäischen Politischen Zusammenarbeit“, des Vorläufers der Gemeinsamen Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik (GASP)

Artikel 13 EEA: „Der Binnenmarkt umfasst einen Raum ohne Binnengrenzen, in dem der freie Verkehr von Waren, Personen, Dienstleistungen und Kapital gemäß den Bestimmungen dieses Vertrages gewährleistet ist.“

nach oben

1993

Der Vertrag über die Europäische Union (EU-V)

Der Vertrag von Maastricht wird am 7. Februar 1992 von den Außen- und Finanzministern unterzeichnet und tritt am 1. November 1993 in Kraft. Dieser Vertrag bildet die zweite und bisher weitreichendste Revision der Gründungsverträge. Die Europäische Union und damit die Möglichkeit der langfristigen Verwirklichung einer Politischen Union werden geschaffen.

Die wichtigsten Neuerungen des Vertrages sind:

  • Schaffung der EU als Dachorganisation über den drei Säulen

Die drei Säulen sind:

1. Säule: EG/ Euratom/EGKS

2. Säule: Gemeinsame Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik

3. Säule:  Zusammenarbeit im Bereich Justiz und Inneres

  • Errichtung der Wirtschafts- und Währungsunion bis 1999
  • Stärkung der Rechte des Europäischen Parlaments  (Einführung des „Mitentscheidungsverfahrens“: Das Europäische Parlament wird im Gesetzgebungsprozess gleichberechtigt mit dem Rat eingebunden)
  • Verankerung des Subsidiaritäts- und Verhältnismäßigkeitsprinzip im EG-V;
  • Schaffung der Europäischen Unionsbürgerschaft

Artikel 17 EU-V: „Es wird eine Unionsbürgerschaft eingeführt. Unionsbürger ist, wer die Staatsangehörigkeit eines Mitgliedstaates besitzt. Die Unionsbürger haben die in diesem Vertrag vorgesehene Rechte und Pflichten.“

nach oben

1999

Vertrag von Amsterdam

Die Außenminister der EU unterzeichnen am 2. Oktober 1997 den Vertrag von Amsterdam, der am 1. Mai 1999 in Kraft tritt. Neben materiellen Änderungen erfolgt auch eine technische: Die Verträge werden vollständig umnummeriert.

Wichtige Änderungen:

  • Vergemeinschaftung von Asyl, Visa, Einwanderung, Grenzkontrollen.
  • Der Schengener Besitzstand wird eine supranationale Angelegenheit mit dem Ziel, einen Raum für Freiheit, Sicherheit und Recht zu kreieren.
  • Im Bereich der Gemeinsamen Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik wird die Funktion des Hohen Vertreters für die Gemeinsame Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik geschaffen.
  • Ein Abschnitt über  Beschäftigungspolitik wird eingeführt.
  • Um die Entscheidungsfindung der EU möglichst offen und bürgernah zu gestalten, wird die Möglichkeit öffentlicher Tagungen des Rates eingeführt

Erstmals werden die Grundsätze erwähnt, auf denen die EU beruht:

Artikel 6 EU-V (in der Fassung von Amsterdam): „Die Union beruht auf den Grundsätzen der Freiheit, der Demokratie, der Achtung der Menschenrechte und Grundfreiheiten sowie der Rechtsstaatlichkeit; diese Grundsätze sind allen Mitgliedstaaten gemeinsam.“

nach oben

2003

Vertrag von Nizza

Der Vertrag von Nizza wird am 26. Februar 2001 in Nizza unterzeichnet und tritt am 1. Februar 2003 in Kraft. Ziel des Vertrages ist, Europa für die kommende Erweiterung um zehn neue Mitgliedstaaten „fit“ zu machen.

Die institutionellen Änderungen durch den Vertrag von Nizza betreffen im Wesentlichen die Ausweitung der Abstimmung mit qualifizierter Mehrheit im Rat der Europäischen Union, die Ernennung und Rolle des Präsidenten der Europäischen Kommission, die Zuständigkeitsverteilung zwischen dem Europäischen Gerichtshof (EuGH) und dem Gericht erster Instanz (EuGI) sowie die Neuregelung der Stimmgewichtung im Rat. Die Obergrenze für die Anzahl der Mitglieder des Europäischen Parlaments wird von 700 auf 732 angehoben und eine Verkleinerung der Kommission nach dem Beitritt des 27. Mitgliedstaates nach dem Prinzip der völlig gleichberechtigten Rotation zwischen den Mitgliedstaaten vorgesehen.

Zur Erleichterung einer vertieften Integration zwischen einzelnen Mitgliedstaaten hat der Vertrag die Bestimmungen über die „Verstärkte Zusammenarbeit“ neu gefasst. Hinsichtlich der materiellrechtlichen Änderungen ist vor allem die Ausdehnung der Vertragsschlusskompetenz auf die Bereiche des Handels mit Dienstleistungen und auf die handelsrelevanten Aspekte der Rechte des geistigen Eigentums zu erwähnen. Erstmals eingeführt wurde eine neue Rechtgrundlage für Sanktionsverfahren gegen Mitgliedstaaten, die die fundamentalen Grundsätze der Union verletzten.

Kein Bestandteil des Vertrages von Nizza ist die Charta der Grundrechte der Europäischen Union.  Sie wurde von den Staats- und Regierungschefs in Nizza feierlich proklamiert. Sie ist daher nicht rechtsverbindlich.

Charta der Grundrechte der Europäischen Union (Präambel): „Die Völker Europas sind entschlossen, auf der Grundlage gemeinsamer Werte eine friedliche Zukunft zu teilen, indem sie sich zu einer immer engeren Union verbinden.“

nach oben

2004

Vertrag über eine Verfassung für Europa

Am 29. Oktober unterzeichnen die Staats- und Regierungschefs sowie die Außenminister der EU-Mitgliedstaaten in Rom den Vertrag über eine Verfassung für Europa. Um in Kraft zu treten, muss der Verfassungsvertrag in allen Mitgliedstaaten ratifiziert werden. Nachdem in Frankreich und den Niederlanden der Verfassungsvertrag in Referenden mehrheitlich abgelehnt wurde, ist noch nicht klar, ob und wann das Ratifikationsverfahren positiv abgeschlossen werden kann.

nach oben

 
Datum: 30.12.2005