.
Skip to content.
Skip to content.
Meetings Calendar 2006
January
.
February
.
March
.
April
.
May
.
June
.
March
  Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su  
 
.
.
1
.
2
.
3
.
4
.
5
.
 
  6
.
7
.
8
.
9
.
10
.
11
.
12
.
 
  13
.
14
.
15
.
16
.
17
.
18
.
19
.
 
  20
.
21
.
22
.
23
.
24
.
25
.
26
.
 
  27
.
28
.
29
.
30
.
31
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Burgenland

Coat of arms Burgenland

 

Population: 277 600

Area: 3 965.46 km²

Capital: Eisenstadt

Governor: Hans Niessl (Austrian Social Democratic Party, SPÖ)

Links:
Government of Burgenland: http://www.burgenland.gv.at
Capital of Burgenland: http://www.eisenstadt.at
Tourist Office: http://www.burgenland.info

Municipalities: 171 municipalities in 7 districts
13 towns, 2 of which have their own charter

Location:
Burgenland borders on Hungary in the east and is the most easterly of the nine Austrian provinces. The Neusiedlersee lake is on the edge of the Hungarian Plain.

History:
Burgenland, which belonged to Hungary until the end of the First World War, was settled by the Magyars. Following the Mongol invasion in 1241, the Austrians also began to build border fortifications in Burgenland. Many fortified castles and castle ruins from that period still remain to the present day.

Territories changed hands between Austria and Hungary on several occasions before Duke Albert V was elected King of Hungary in 1437, the first Austrian to hold the crown. After the Austro-Hungarian War of 1484-1491, the Habsburg Emperor Maximilian I renounced the Hungarian crown, but retained authority over the Western Hungarian territories. In 1647 all Western Hungarian lands under Austrian administration were placed under Hungarian control to avert a planned uprising.

The ecological character of Burgenland changed radically between 1865 and 1871. The Neusiedlersee lake dried out completely as a result of canal construction. It subsequently filled up naturally again.

After the First World War the Treaty of Trianon assigned the German-speaking parts of Burgenland to Austria in 1920. Italian mediation led to a referendum on the city of Sopron and its environs in December 1921, the result of which was not in Austria’s favour.

 

Date: 20.12.2005

.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Tagungskalender 2006
Jänner
.
Februar
.
März
.
April
.
Mai
.
Juni
.
März
  Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So  
 
.
.
1
.
2
.
3
.
4
.
5
.
 
  6
.
7
.
8
.
9
.
10
.
11
.
12
.
 
  13
.
14
.
15
.
16
.
17
.
18
.
19
.
 
  20
.
21
.
22
.
23
.
24
.
25
.
26
.
 
  27
.
28
.
29
.
30
.
31
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Burgenland

Landeswappen Burgenland

 

Einwohner: 277.600

Fläche: 3.965,46 km²

Landeshauptstadt: Eisenstadt

Landeshauptmann: Hans Niessl (SPÖ)

Links:
Landesregierung: http://www.burgenland.gv.at
Landeshauptstadt: http://www.eisenstadt.at
Tourismus: http://www.burgenland.info

Gemeinden: 171 Gemeinden in 7 Bezirken
13 Städte davon 2 mit eigenem Statut

Lage:
Das Burgenland grenzt im Osten an Ungarn und ist das östlichste der neun Bundesländer Österreichs. Der Neusiedlersee liegt hier an der Grenze zur Ungarischen Tiefebene.

Geschichte:
Das Burgenland, das bis zum Ende des Ersten Weltkrieges zu Ungarn gehörte, wurde von Magyaren besiedelt. Um die Grenzen besser zu befestigen, begann nach dem Einfall der Mongolen 1241 auch von österreichischer Seite auf dem Gebiet des Burgenlands eine rege Bautätigkeit. Davon zeugen heute noch zahlreiche Burgen und Burgruinen.

Nach einigen Gebietseroberungen und -verlusten zwischen Österreich und Ungarn wurde 1437 mit Herzog Albrecht V. erstmals ein Österreicher zum ungarischen König gewählt. Nach dem Ungarisch-Österreichischen Krieg von 1484 bis 1491 verzichtete der Habsburger Kaiser Maximilian I. auf den ungarischen Königsthron, behielt aber die Oberhoheit über die westungarischen Gebiete. 1647 wurden alle noch unter österreichischer Verwaltung stehenden westungarischen Gebiete unter ungarische Verwaltung gestellt, um einem geplanten Aufstand zuvorzukommen.

Ökologisch veränderte sich das Bild Burgenlands zwischen 1865 und 1871 grundlegend. Durch Kanalbauten trocknete der Neusiedlersee vollkommen aus. Er füllte sich später wieder auf natürliche Weise.

Nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg wurden 1920 im Vertrag von Trianon die deutschsprachigen Teile des Burgenlands Österreich zugesprochen. Durch italienische Vermittlung kam es im Dezember 1921 zu einer Voksabstimmung über die Stadt Ödenburg und ihre Umgebung, die zu Ungunsten Österreichs ausging.

 

Datum: 20.12.2005