.
Skip to content.
Skip to content.
Meetings Calendar 2006
January
.
February
.
March
.
April
.
May
.
June
.
March
  Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su  
 
.
.
1
.
2
.
3
.
4
.
5
.
 
  6
.
7
.
8
.
9
.
10
.
11
.
12
.
 
  13
.
14
.
15
.
16
.
17
.
18
.
19
.
 
  20
.
21
.
22
.
23
.
24
.
25
.
26
.
 
  27
.
28
.
29
.
30
.
31
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Lower Austria

Coat of arms Lower Austria

 

Population: 1 563 900

Area: 19 177.78 km²

Capital: St. Pölten

Governor: Erwin Pröll (Austrian People’s Party. ÖVP)

Links:
Government of Lower Austria: http://www.noel.gv.at
Tourist Office: http://www.niederoesterreich.info

Municipalities:
573 municipalities in 21 districts
20 towns, 4 of which have their own charter

Location:
Lower Austria is in the north-east of Austria between the Alps and the Bohemian Massif. It borders on the Czech Republic in the north and Slovakia in the east. From here, there are major crossing points to the new EU Member States. The Danube flows through Lower Austria from west to east.

History:
In 976 the Babenbergs were given the Austrian territories in fief, which at the time encompassed large parts of what is now Lower Austria. These territories were separated from Bavaria in 1156 and made a duchy in their own right. The Babenberg dynasty died out in 1246 and King Ottokar II Přemysl became the new ruler. By the end of his reign, Lower Austria was approximately the size it is today.

The last minor adjustments to its external border were made by the Treaty of St Germain in 1919. Vienna was separated from Lower Austria in 1922 and became a province (Bundesland) in its own right, but remained the capital of Lower Austria. In 1986 St. Pölten became the capital of Lower Austria following a referendum.

 

Date: 22.12.2005

.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Tagungskalender 2006
Jänner
.
Februar
.
März
.
April
.
Mai
.
Juni
.
März
  Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So  
 
.
.
1
.
2
.
3
.
4
.
5
.
 
  6
.
7
.
8
.
9
.
10
.
11
.
12
.
 
  13
.
14
.
15
.
16
.
17
.
18
.
19
.
 
  20
.
21
.
22
.
23
.
24
.
25
.
26
.
 
  27
.
28
.
29
.
30
.
31
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Niederösterreich

Landeswappen Niederoesterreich

 

Einwohner: 1.563.900

Fläche: 19.177,78 km²

Landeshauptstadt: St. Pölten

Landeshauptmann: Erwin Pröll (ÖVP)

Links:
Landesregierung: http://www.noel.gv.at
Tourismus: http://www.niederoesterreich.info

Gemeinden:
573 Gemeinden in 21 Bezirken
20 Städte davon 4 mit eigenem Statut

Lage:
Im Nordosten zwischen den Alpen und dem Böhmischen Massiv liegt das Bundesland Niederösterreich. Im Norden grenzt es an die Tschechische Republik und im Osten an die Slowakei. Von hier aus führen wichtige Grenzübergänge zu den neuen Mitgliedstaaten der EU. Die Donau durchfließt das Land von Westen nach Osten.

Geschichte:
976 wurden die Babenberger mit den österreichischen Ländern belehnt, welche damals große Teile des heutigen Niederösterreichs umfassten. 1156 wurden diese Gebiete von Bayern getrennt und zum eigenen Herzogtum erhoben. 1246 starben die Babenberger aus und König Ottokar II. Přemysl wurde neuer Herrscher. In seiner Regierungsperiode erreichte Niederösterreich in etwa seine heutige Ausdehnung.

Letzte kleinere Verschiebungen der Außengrenzen wurden 1919 durch den Friedensvertrag von St. Germain bestimmt. 1922 wurde Wien als eigenes Bundesland von Niederösterreich getrennt, blieb aber gleichzeitig Landeshauptstadt. 1986 wurde St. Pölten nach einer Volksbefragung neue Landeshauptstadt von Niederösterreich.

 

Datum: 29.12.2005