.
Skip to content.
Skip to content.
Meetings Calendar 2006
January
.
February
.
March
.
April
.
May
.
June
.
March
  Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su  
 
.
.
1
.
2
.
3
.
4
.
5
.
 
  6
.
7
.
8
.
9
.
10
.
11
.
12
.
 
  13
.
14
.
15
.
16
.
17
.
18
.
19
.
 
  20
.
21
.
22
.
23
.
24
.
25
.
26
.
 
  27
.
28
.
29
.
30
.
31
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

OSCE


Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe

www.osce.org

 

Employees: 380
In Vienna since: 1994
Member states: 55

The 55 member states of the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), which is the successor organisation of the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe (CSCE) founded in 1975, make it the largest regional organisation for security in the world. The OSCE pursues a comprehensive and cooperative security approach that includes the political-military, economic-environmental and human dimensions. All countries that participate in OSCE activities have equal rights and are not bound by a treaty, which makes resolutions made under the principle of consensus politically, but not legally, binding.

With institutionalisation of the OSCE, the Secretariat of the organisation was set up in Vienna in 1994 and its areas of responsibility have grown steadily since then. The Special Representative for Trafficking in Human Beings is also part of the Secretariat. The office of an OSCE Representative for Media Freedom was established in 1997.

Weekly meetings are also held in Vienna of the Permanent Council of the OSCE, the Forum for Security Cooperation and, in close organisational and technical collaboration with the OSCE institutions, the permanent bodies according to the Treaty on Conventional Forces in Europe (CFE) and the Open Skies Treaty.

The OSCE has also become an operative organisation in the past decade, maintaining 18 missions in Central Asia, the South Caucasus, Eastern Europe and the Balkans. The Secretariat in Vienna also oversees the data and logistical support of the field missions with their approximately 3 000 employees.

The OSCE institutions based outside Vienna are also of great importance, specifically the Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (ODIHR) based in Warsaw and the High Commissioner for National Minorities in The Hague.

 

Tasks of the OSCE:

  • Early warning, conflict prevention, crisis management and post-conflict rehabilitation
  • Arms control
  • Preventive diplomacy
  • Confidence and security-building measures
  • Protection of human rights
  • Democratisation and monitoring elections
  • Economic and environmental concerns
  • Strategic police work
  • Anti-terrorism activities
  • Fighting trafficking in human beings

 

Date: 04.01.2006

.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Tagungskalender 2006
Jänner
.
Februar
.
März
.
April
.
Mai
.
Juni
.
März
  Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So  
 
.
.
1
.
2
.
3
.
4
.
5
.
 
  6
.
7
.
8
.
9
.
10
.
11
.
12
.
 
  13
.
14
.
15
.
16
.
17
.
18
.
19
.
 
  20
.
21
.
22
.
23
.
24
.
25
.
26
.
 
  27
.
28
.
29
.
30
.
31
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

OSZE


Organisation für Sicherheit und Zusammenarbeit in Europa

www.osze.org

 

Mitarbeiter: 380
In Wien seit: 1994
Mitgliedsstaaten: 55

Die aus der seit 1975 bestehenden Konferenz für Sicherheit und Zusammenarbeit in Europa (KSZE) hervorgegangene Organisation für Sicherheit und Zusammenarbeit in Europa (OSZE) ist mit 55 Teilnehmerstaaten die weltweit größte regionale Sicherheitsorganisation. Die OSZE verfolgt einen umfassenden und kooperativen Sicherheitsansatz, der die menschliche, die politisch-militärische und die ökonomisch-ökologische Dimension  umfasst. Alle an OSZE-Aktivitäten beteiligten Staaten sind gleichberechtigt und vertraglich nicht gebunden, weshalb die nach dem Konsensprinzip gefassten Beschlüsse politisch, jedoch nicht rechtlich bindend sind.

Mit der Institutionalisierung der OSZE wurde 1994 in Wien das Sekretariat der OSZE angesiedelt, dessen Aufgaben seitdem ständig gewachsen sind. Dem Sekretariat angegliedert ist auch die Sonderbeauftragte für den Kampf gegen den Menschenhandel. Im Jahr 1997  wurde das Büro eines OSZE-Repräsentanten für Medienfreiheit eingerichtet.

Es tagen in Wien wöchentlich auch der Ständige Rat der OSZE und das Forum für Sicherheitskooperation, sowie in enger organisatorisch-technischer Verbindung mit den OSZE-Institutionen die ständigen Gremien gemäß dem Vertrag über konventionelle Streitkräfte in Europa  (KSE) und dem Vertrag über den Offenen Himmel (Open Skies Treaty).

Die OSZE hat sich im letzten Jahrzehnt auch zu einer operativen Organisation entwickelt, die 18 Missionen  in Zentralasien, im Südkaukasus, in Osteuropa  und auf dem Balkan  unterhält. Die inhaltliche und logistische Betreuung der Feldmissionen mit ihren ca. 3.000  Mitarbeitern erfolgt ebenfalls durch das Sekretariat in Wien.

Von großer Bedeutung sind auch die außerhalb Wiens angesiedelten Institutionen der OSZE, nämlich das Büro für demokratische Institutionen und Menschenrechte (ODIHR) mit Sitz in Warschau und der Hohe Kommissar für nationale Minderheiten in Den Haag.

 

Aufgaben der OSZE:

  • Frühwarnung, Konfliktverhütung, Krisenbewältigung und Konfliktnachsorge
  • Rüstungskontrolle
  • Vorbeugende Diplomatie
  • Vertrauens- und sicherheitsbildende Maßnahmen
  • Schutz der Menschenrechte
  • Demokratisierung und Wahlbeobachtung
  • Wirtschafts- und Umweltbelange
  • Strategische Polizei-Aufgaben
  • Anti-Terrorismusaktivitäten
  • Bekämpfung des Menschenhandels

 

Datum: 31.12.2005