.
Skip to content.
Skip to content.
Meetings Calendar 2006
January
.
February
.
March
.
April
.
May
.
June
.
March
  Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su  
 
.
.
1
.
2
.
3
.
4
.
5
.
 
  6
.
7
.
8
.
9
.
10
.
11
.
12
.
 
  13
.
14
.
15
.
16
.
17
.
18
.
19
.
 
  20
.
21
.
22
.
23
.
24
.
25
.
26
.
 
  27
.
28
.
29
.
30
.
31
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Austrian exports - a success story

 

Since EU accession, Austrian exports have increased nominally by 140% (or 9% per annum on average). Of all the EU countries, only Ireland has higher export growth. In 2004, Austrian exports of goods accounted for 37.9% of GDP. After reaching record levels of EUR 79 billion in 2003, goods exports rose again in 2004 by just under 14% to almost EUR 90 billion. Machines and road vehicles top the list of goods exported.

The EU is Austria’s most important export market. Roughly one third of exports go to Germany. Outside the EU, China and the USA are Austria's most important market for exports (30% increase in exports combined). The countries of Central and Eastern Europe, and in particular the new Member States, have also been significant trading partners for some years now. Since the opening of the borders to Eastern Europe in 1989, this region has become one of the most dynamic export markets for the Austrian economy.

 

Chart and Table

 

 

Since 1989, Austrian exports to Central and Eastern Europe have increased many times over. In 1990, the share of exports to these countries was 8.25%. By 2004, this share had risen to 14.4%, with goods to the value of EUR 11 billion exported to this region. Austria’s most important trading partners among the ten new EU Member States are the Czech Republic and Hungary.

Imports from the new Member States have also increased significantly since the end of the East-West division. The share of imports from Central and Eastern European countries as a proportion of Austrian imports as a whole was 5.01% in 1990. By 2004, this share had increased to 12.2%.

Austria, which only accounts for 2% of the EU’s inhabitants, generates around 8% of the EU’s external trade with the new Member States and has a significant balance of trade surplus in this region. In 2004, this surplus stood at EUR 1.4 billion.

 

Chart and Table

 

 

Austria: an important investor in Central and Eastern Europe

In 2004, direct investment abroad by Austrian investors reached record levels. New capital investment stood at EUR 5.8 billion, surpassing the previous peak from 2000. For the first time, Austrian investors were holding just as much capital in foreign enterprises (around EUR 52 billion), as foreign investors were holding in Austria. More than half of the capital invested went to the countries of Central and Eastern Europe.

Austria’s investments are concentrated on the new EU Member States and South-East Europe, notably Romania, as well as Bulgaria, Croatia, Serbia and Montenegro and, for the first time, Albania.

 

back

Date: 01.02.2006

.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Tagungskalender 2006
Jänner
.
Februar
.
März
.
April
.
Mai
.
Juni
.
März
  Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So  
 
.
.
1
.
2
.
3
.
4
.
5
.
 
  6
.
7
.
8
.
9
.
10
.
11
.
12
.
 
  13
.
14
.
15
.
16
.
17
.
18
.
19
.
 
  20
.
21
.
22
.
23
.
24
.
25
.
26
.
 
  27
.
28
.
29
.
30
.
31
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Österreichs Export - eine "Erfolgsgeschichte"


Seit dem EU-Beitritt stiegen Österreichs Exporte nominell um 140% bzw. im Durchschnitt jährlich um 9%. Von allen EU-Ländern weist nur Irland höhere Exportzuwächse auf. Im Jahr 2004 trugen die österreichischen Warenexporte 37,9% zum BIP bei. Nachdem die Warenexporte im Jahr 2003 mit 79 Mrd. Euro einen neuen Höchstwert erreicht hatten, stiegen sie 2004 neuerlich um knapp 14% auf fast 90 Mrd. Euro. Zu den meist exportierten Waren gehören Maschinen und Straßenfahrzeuge.

Die EU ist Österreichs wichtigster Exportmarkt. Rund ein Drittel der Ausfuhren geht nach Deutschland. In Übersee hat sich für Österreich neben den USA China (zusammen 30% Export-Plus) als zweitwichtigster Exportmarkt entwickelt. Vor allem die Staaten Mittel- und Osteuropas (MOEL), insbesondere die neuen Mitgliedsländer, sind seit Jahren für Österreich bedeutende Handelspartner. Seit der Ostöffnung 1989 entwickelte sich die Region zu einem der dynamischsten Exportmärkte für die österreichische Wirtschaft.

 

Grafik und Tabelle

 

 

Seit 1989 haben sich die österreichischen Exporte nach Mittel- und Osteuropa vervielfacht. Im Jahr 1990 lag der Anteil der Exporte in die mittel- und osteuropäischen Länder bei 8,25%. Im Jahr 2004 konnte dieser Anteil auf 14,4% gesteigert und Waren im Wert von 11 Mrd. Euro in diese Region exportiert werden. Österreichs wichtigste Handelspartner in den 10 neuen EU-Mitgliedstaaten sind die Tschechische Republik und Ungarn.

Auch die Importe aus den neuen Mitgliedsländern haben seit der Ostöffnung stark zugenommen. Der Anteil der Einfuhren aus den mittel- und osteuropäischen Ländern an den österreichischen Gesamtimporten lag im Jahr 1990 noch bei 5,01%. Im Jahr 2004 stieg dieser Anteil auf 12,2%.

Österreich, das lediglich 2% der EU-Einwohner repräsentiert, erwirtschaftet damit rd. 8% des EU-Außenhandels mit den neuen EU-Mitgliedstaaten und verzeichnet in dieser Region einen signifikanten Handelsbilanzüberschuss. Im Jahr 2004 lag dieser bei 1,4 Mrd. Euro.

 

Grafik und Tabelle

 

 

Österreich: Wichtiger Investor in Mittel- und Osteuropa

Im Jahr 2004 erreichten die Direktinvestitionen österreichischer Investoren im Ausland ein Rekordniveau. Mit einem Volumen von 5,8 Milliarden Euro an neu investiertem Kapital wurde der bisherige Spitzenwert aus dem Jahr 2000 knapp übertroffen. Mit rund 52 Mrd. Euro halten österreichische Investoren erstmals gleich viel Kapital an ausländischen Unternehmen wie ausländische Anleger in Österreich. Mehr als die Hälfte des Investitionsvolumens entfiel auf die Länder Mittel- und Osteuropas.

Die Investitionen Österreichs konzentrieren sich auf die neuen EU-Mitgliedsländer und auf Südosteuropa. Neben dem Spitzenreiter Rumänien sind Bulgarien, Kroatien, Serbien und Montenegro und erstmals auch Albanien hervorzuheben.

zurück

Datum: 29.12.2005