.
Skip to content.
Skip to content.
Meetings Calendar 2006
January
.
February
.
March
.
April
.
May
.
June
.
March
  Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su  
 
.
.
1
.
2
.
3
.
4
.
5
.
 
  6
.
7
.
8
.
9
.
10
.
11
.
12
.
 
  13
.
14
.
15
.
16
.
17
.
18
.
19
.
 
  20
.
21
.
22
.
23
.
24
.
25
.
26
.
 
  27
.
28
.
29
.
30
.
31
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

History

 

From Noricum to Ostarrichi

The first embryonic state in the area that is now Austria was the Celtic kingdom of Noricum, which was for the most part integrated into the Roman Empire around 15 BC. Numerous settlements were founded under Roman rule, including Vindobona (Vienna), Iuvavum (Salzburg) and Brigantium (Bregenz). The Roman Empire collapsed after the invasion of the Germanic tribes. Up until the end of the 8th century, various Germanic tribes, Huns and Avars migrated through the territory that is now Austria.

In AD 800, Charlemagne established the Carolingian march between the rivers Enns, Raab and Drave in order to protect the border. In 976, the Babenberg family were given this territory in fief and in 1156 it was elevated to a duchy. The name “Ostarrichi” first appears in a deed of conveyance in 996.

top

The Habsburg era

When the Babenberg line came to an end in the middle of the 13th century, the Habsburgs, who originated from what is now Switzerland, were given the Duchy of Austria in fief in 1282 after a brief interregnum by the Bohemian King Ottokar II. For the next 600 years until 1918, the history of Austria is closely interwoven with that of the House of Habsburg.

Following the Treaties of Worms and Brussels the House of Habsburg was split in 1521 and 1522 into two lines – an Austrian and a Spanish line – which ruled completely independently of each other in different territories. In 1526 the Austrian line gained possession of Bohemia and Hungary when the last Jagellion ruler died without heirs.

The 16th and 17th centuries were characterised by battles with the Ottoman Empire, whose armies twice penetrated to the gates of Vienna. Once the Ottoman expansion had been successfully repulsed, the resulting territorial gains gave the House of Habsburg the status of a great European power.

In 1700, the Spanish line of the Habsburgs died out. During the War of the Spanish Succession (1701–1714), the House of Austria (casa d’Austria) failed to regain the Spanish possessions, but was bequeathed all of Spain’s European possessions (Spanish Netherlands, Naples, and Lombardy). At this time, the Austrian line of the Habsburgs controlled the largest expanse of territory in its history.

When Emperor Charles VI died in 1740, he was succeeded by his daughter Maria Theresa, since the “pragmatic sanction” (1713) allowed for female succession. With her husband Francis Stephen of Lorraine, she founded the new Habsburg-Lorraine dynasty. The Habsburg lands were largely defended during the War of the Austrian Succession, and only the rich province of Silesia was lost to the Prussians.

Maria Theresa and her son Joseph II established the basis for a modern state in the 18th century with their reforms based on the principles of enlightened absolutism: central administration, compulsory education, abolition of serfdom, the Patent of Tolerance and reform of churches and monasteries. Imperial Vienna became a centre of music at this time. Christoph Willibald Gluck, Joseph Haydn and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, whose 250th birthday will be celebrated in 2006, created their immortal works here.

The changes in Europe caused by the French Revolution and the Napoleonic Wars signalled the end of the Holy Roman Empire. In 1806 Emperor Francis II renounced the title of Holy Roman Emperor. Two years earlier, he had responded to Napoleon being crowned emperor by proclaiming the Empire of Austria, and ruled as Emperor Francis I of Austria until 1835.

After Napoleon’s defeat at the Battle of the Nations at Leipzig and Waterloo, a new European order was established at the Congress of Vienna (1814/15). Austria’s domestic and foreign policy until the 1848 Revolution was determined by the Austrian State Chancellor Prince Clemens von Metternich, who pursued a conservative, restorationist policy. Decisive Austrian defeats in the course of Italian unification forced the Habsburgs to make concessions to growing nationalist sentiment.

top

Austro-Hungarian Dual Monarchy

In 1866, Prussia and Austria went to war over the leadership of the German Confederation. The conflict ended with Austria’s defeat at Königgrätz. Emperor Franz Joseph was forced to approve the dissolution of the German Confederation and the reorganisation of Germany under Prussian leadership without Austria. A domestic consequence of Austria’s defeat at the hands of Prussia was the establishment of the Austro-Hungarian Dual Monarchy. In the so-called Compromise of 1867, Hungary became an equal member in a dual state alliance (imperial and royal monarchy). However, this did not solve the problem of nationalism in the Habsburg multi-ethnic state.

The assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand, heir to the Austrian throne, in Sarajevo on 28 June 1914 sparked the outbreak of the First World War. After the defeat of the Central Powers (Austria-Hungary, the German Reich and the allied Ottoman Empire) in the autumn of 1918, the European order crumbled. The Dual Monarchy disintegrated into nation-states. The small state of Austria became a republic.

top

First Republic, ANSCHLUSS AND NAZI DICTATORSHIP

The constitution of 1920 marked the difficult beginning of the First Republic. The economy of the new state lay in tatters owing to the consequences of the war, reparations and territorial losses; large-scale unemployment led to political polarisation. Democracy came to a temporary end in Austria in 1933 when Federal Chancellor Engelbert Dollfuss established a dictatorial state. Dollfuss was assassinated in July 1934 in an attempted coup staged by the National Socialists.

On 12 March 1938 German troops crossed the border into Austria. The Anschluss of Austria into Greater Germany was implemented by law on 13 March 1938 and subsequently “legalised” by a referendum on 10 April. Austria had ceased to exist as an independent state.

During the following years, Austria’s Jews were exposed to unprecedented terror, subjected to mental humiliation and physical torture, robbed of their possessions and expelled from the country. Austrian Jews were denied all means of making a living. Around 65 000 Austrian Jews died in the Holocaust.

In addition, many Austrians who opposed the Nazi regime were sent to prisons and death camps.

The resistance groups active at the end of the war made contact with the Allied troops who were moving towards Austria to help speed up the liberation of the country. On 27 April 1945, before the Second World War had ended (capitulation of the German Wehrmacht on 8 May 1945), the provisional state government under Karl Renner declared the independence of Austria (Second Republic) and re-established the constitution of 1920 in its 1929 version.

top

Second Republic

The first tasks facing this provisional cabinet were to restore civilian life, to supply the starving population with provisions and to rebuild democratic and political structures. On 25 November 1945, the first democratic elections for more than a decade were held. Leopold Figl, the chairman of the Austrian People’s Party (ÖVP), became federal chancellor.

The immediate post-war period was characterised by economic reconstruction and attempts to restore Austria’s full sovereignty. Austria’s economic recovery moved ahead rapidly thanks to the generous help of the US Marshall Plan.

After years of negotiations with the Allies, the Austrian delegation was finally promised the State Treaty on 15 April 1955 in Moscow. On 15 May 1955, the foreign ministers of the four occupying powers signed the State Treaty in Vienna’s Schloss Belvedere. Foreign Minister Figl signed for Austria. Austria thus regained its full independence and sovereignty after seven years of Nazi dictatorship and 10 years of military occupation.

On 26 October 1955 (the national holiday), the National Council adopted the constitutional law of permanent neutrality. This was the political price for the Soviet Union’s approval of the State Treaty, but it was made clear that Austrian neutrality was not part of the Treaty, but a sovereign step taken by Austria.

top

Austria in Europe and in the world

Following the signing of the State Treaty and restoration of sovereignty, Austria became a member of the United Nations in December 1955, and since then has been actively involved in the UN’s numerous tasks and missions. In 1956 it joined the Council of Europe and the European Convention on Human Rights. Membership of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) followed in 1960. Austria entered into extensive free trade agreements with the European Community in 1972.

With the end of the Cold War, Austria moved from its position on the periphery between East and West into the centre of a larger Europe with new forms of partnership. This was expressed in a strong neighbourhood policy and Austria’s efforts to join the European Community.

After the collapse of Communism in 1989, Austria’s relations with the countries of Eastern and South-East Europe were intensified. Austria and Germany pushed for speedy recognition of Slovenia and Croatia in 1991 during the Yugoslav conflict at the beginning of the 1990s. Austria established close economic and political relations with the successor states to Yugoslavia and with the other Central and South Eastern European countries.

On 1 January 1995 Austria became a member of the European Union (EU) and an observer in the Western European Union (WEU).

top

Date: 01.02.2006

.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Tagungskalender 2006
Jänner
.
Februar
.
März
.
April
.
Mai
.
Juni
.
März
  Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So  
 
.
.
1
.
2
.
3
.
4
.
5
.
 
  6
.
7
.
8
.
9
.
10
.
11
.
12
.
 
  13
.
14
.
15
.
16
.
17
.
18
.
19
.
 
  20
.
21
.
22
.
23
.
24
.
25
.
26
.
 
  27
.
28
.
29
.
30
.
31
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Geschichte

 

Von Noricum bis Ostarrichi

Das erste staatliche Gebilde auf dem Gebiet des heutigen Österreichs war das keltische Königreich Noricum, das um 15 v. Chr. großteils in das Römische Reich integriert wurde. Unter der Herrschaft der Römer entstanden zahlreiche Siedlungen, so wie Vindobona (Wien), Iuvavum (Salzburg) oder Brigantium (Bregenz). Mit dem Einfall der Germanen zerbrach das Römische Reich. Bis zum Ende des 8. Jahrhunderts blieb der österreichische Raum Durchzugsgebiet der Wanderungsströme verschiedener Stämme - der Germanen, der Hunnen und Awaren.

800 n.Chr. schuf der Frankenkönig Karl der Große zur Grenzsicherung zwischen den Flüssen Enns, Raab und Drau die Karolingische Mark. 976 wurde das Adelsgeschlecht der Babenberger mit der Verwaltung dieses Gebiets belehnt, das 1156 zum Herzogtum erhoben wurde. Der Name „Ostarrichi“ findet sich 996 erstmals in einer Schenkungsurkunde.

nach oben

Die Ära der Habsburger

Als die Babenberger um die Mitte des 13. Jahrhunderts ausstarben, wurden nach einem kurzen Interregnum des Böhmenkönigs Ottokar II. die aus der heutigen Schweiz stammenden Habsburger 1282 mit dem Herzogtum Österreich belehnt. Von diesem Zeitpunkt an ist die Geschichte Österreichs über 600 Jahre bis zum Jahr 1918 mit jener des Hauses Habsburg verbunden.

In den Jahren 1521 und 1522 entstanden aufgrund der Verträge von Worms und Brüssel zwei Linien des Hauses Habsburg – eine österreichische und eine spanische – die völlig unabhängig voneinander in unterschiedlichen Territorien herrschten. 1526 gewann die österreichische Linie nach dem Aussterben der Jagiellonen auch Böhmen und Ungarn für sich.

Das 16. und das 17. Jahrhundert waren von Auseinandersetzungen mit dem Osmanischen Reich geprägt, dessen Heere zweimal bis vor die Tore Wiens vordringen konnten. Nach Zurückdrängung der osmanischen Expansion hatte das Haus Habsburg durch die damit verbundenen Gebietsgewinne die Stellung einer europäischen Großmacht erreicht.

Im Jahr 1700 starben die spanischen Habsburger aus. Im Spanischen Erbfolgekrieg (1701–1714) konnte das Haus Österreich (casa d’Austria) die spanischen Besitzungen nicht zurückgewinnen, erhielt jedoch aus der Erbmasse alle europäischen Nebenlande Spaniens (Spanische Niederlande, Neapel, Lombardei). Damals erreichte das Gebiet der österreichischen Habsburger seine größte territoriale Ausdehnung.

Mit dem Tode Kaiser Karls VI. 1740 übernahm dessen Tochter Maria Theresia, nachdem die weibliche Erbfolge in der Pragmatischen Sanktion (1713) geregelt worden war, die Herrschaft. Mit ihrem Ehemann Franz Stephan von Lothringen begründete sie die neue Dynastie Habsburg-Lothringen. Das habsburgische Erbe konnte im Österreichischen Erbfolgekrieg weitgehend verteidigt werden, nur die reiche Provinz Schlesien fiel an Preußen.

Maria Theresia und ihr Sohn Joseph II. schufen im 18. Jahrhundert mit Reformen nach den Prinzipien des aufgeklärten Absolutismus die Grundlagen für einen modernen Staat: Zentrale Verwaltung, Schulpflicht, Aufhebung der Leibeigenschaft, Toleranzpatent und Reform von Kirchen und Klöstern. Das kaiserliche Wien wurde damals zum Zentrum der Musik. Christoph Willibald Gluck, Joseph Haydn und Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, dessen 250. Geburtstag sich 2006 jährt, schufen hier ihre unvergänglichen Werke.

Die Veränderungen der europäischen Landkarte durch die französische Revolution und die nachfolgenden Napoleonischen Kriege führten zum Ende des Heiligen Römischen Reiches. 1806 erklärte Kaiser Franz II. die Kaiserwürde als erloschen. Zwei Jahre zuvor hatte er auf die Kaiserkrönung Napoleons mit der Ausrufung des Kaisertums Österreich reagiert und regierte als Kaiser Franz I. von Österreich bis 1835.

Nach Napoleons Niederlage in der Völkerschlacht von Leipzig und später bei Waterloo wurde Europa auf dem Wiener Kongress (1814/1815) neu geordnet. Bis zur Revolution im Jahr 1848 wurde die österreichische Innen- und Außenpolitik von Staatskanzler Clemens Fürst Metternich geprägt, der eine konservative Restaurationspolitik vertrat. Nach entscheidenden österreichischen Niederlagen infolge der italienischen Staatsbildung musste auch das habsburgische Staatswesen Konzessionen an den stetig erstarkenden Nationalismus machen.

nach oben

Doppelmonarchie Österreich-Ungarn

1866 kam es zwischen Preußen und Österreich zum Krieg um die Vorherrschaft im Deutschen Bund, der mit der Niederlage Österreichs bei Königsgrätz endete. Kaiser Franz Josef musste der Auflösung des Deutschen Bundes und der Neugestaltung Deutschlands unter preußischer Führung ohne Österreich zustimmen. Innenpolitische Folge der Niederlage gegen Preußen war die Gründung der österreichisch-ungarischen Doppelmonarchie. Im so genannten „Ausgleich“ von 1867 wurde Ungarn gleichberechtigtes Mitglied in einem dualen Staatenbund (K.u.K. Monarchie). Das Problem des Nationalismus in dem habsburgischen Vielvölkerstaat war damit jedoch nicht gelöst.

Die Ermordung des österreichischen Thronfolgers Erzherzog Franz Ferdinand am 28. Juni 1914 in Sarajewo war Anlass für den Ausbruch des Ersten Weltkrieges. Nach der Niederlage der Mittelmächte (Österreich-Ungarn, Deutsches Reich und das verbündete Osmanische Reich) im Herbst 1918 zerbrach die bisherige europäische Ordnung. Die Doppelmonarchie zerfiel in Nationalstaaten. Der Kleinstaat Österreich wurde eine Republik.

nach oben

Erste Republik, „Anschluss“ und NS-Diktatur

Die Verfassung von 1920 markierte den schwierigen Beginn der Ersten Republik. Die Wirtschaft des jungen Staates war nach Kriegsende aufgrund von Kriegsschäden, Reparationskosten und den Gebietsverlusten sehr geschwächt und hunderttausende Arbeitslose trugen zu einer politischen Polarisierung bei. 1933 fand die Demokratie in Österreich ihr vorläufiges Ende. Unter Bundeskanzler Engelbert Dollfuß, der im Juli 1934 einem nationalsozialistischen Putschversuch zum Opfer fiel, wurde ein autoritärer Ständestaat errichtet.

Am 12. März 1938 marschierten deutsche Truppen in Österreich ein. Am 13. März 1938 wurde der „Anschluss“ Österreichs an das „Großdeutsche Reich“ per Gesetz vollzogen und mit einer nachträglichen Volksabstimmung am 10. April „legalisiert“. Damit war die staatliche Souveränität Österreichs beendet.

Für die jüdischen Bewohner Österreichs begannen Jahre beispiellosen Terrors, psychischer Demütigung und physischer Folter. Sie wurden ihres Vermögens beraubt und vertrieben. Dem österreichischen Judentum wurde jegliche Existenzgrundlage entzogen. Rund 65.000 jüdische Österreicherinnen und Österreicher wurden Opfer des Holocaust.

In Gefängnisse und Todeslager kamen auch viele jener Österreicherinnen und Österreicher um, die sich im Widerstand gegen das NS-Regime engagierten.

Die gegen Kriegsende aktiver agierenden Widerstandsgruppen nahmen Kontakt zu den nach Österreich vorstoßenden alliierten Truppenverbänden auf, um die Befreiung Österreichs zu beschleunigen. Bereits am 27. April 1945, noch vor Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges (Kapitulation der Deutschen Wehrmacht am 8. Mai 1945), erklärte die Provisorische Staatsregierung unter Karl Renner die Unabhängigkeit und Selbständigkeit Österreichs (Zweite Republik) und setzte die Verfassung von 1920 in der Fassung von 1929 wieder ein.

nach oben

Zweite Republik

Zu den ersten Aufgaben der Regierung gehörten die Wiederherstellung des zivilen Lebens, die Versorgung der hungernden Bevölkerung sowie der Aufbau demokratischer politischer Strukturen. Schon am 25. November 1945 fanden nach mehr als einem Jahrzehnt die ersten demokratischen Wahlen statt. Bundeskanzler wurde ÖVP-Parteiobmann Leopold Figl.

Die ersten Jahre der Nachkriegsgeschichte standen ganz im Zeichen des wirtschaftlichen Wiederaufbaus und des Bemühens um Rückgewinnung der vollen staatlichen Souveränität. Der wirtschaftliche Aufbau Österreichs ging dank der großzügigen Hilfe durch den US-Marschallplan zügig voran.

Nach jahrelangen Verhandlungen mit den Alliierten wurde schlussendlich am 15. April 1955 in Moskau der österreichischen Delegation der Staatsvertrag zugesichert. Am 15. Mai 1955 unterzeichneten die Außenminister der vier Besatzungsmächte im Wiener Barockschloss Belvedere den Österreichischen Staatsvertrag. Für Österreich unterschrieb Außenminister Figl. Damit erhielt Österreich nach sieben Jahren NS-Diktatur und zehn Jahren militärischer Besatzung seine volle Unabhängigkeit und Souveränität zurück.

Am 26. Oktober 1955 (Nationalfeiertag) beschloss der Nationalrat das Bundesverfassungsgesetz über die „immerwährende Neutralität“. Sie war der „politische Preis“ für die Zustimmung der Sowjetunion zum Staatsvertrag, wobei jedoch klar gestellt wurde, dass die österreichische Neutralität kein Vertragsbe­standteil, sondern ein souveräner Schritt Österreichs sein sollte.

nach oben

Österreich in Europa und in der Welt

Nach Unterzeichnung des Staatsvertrages und der Wiedererlangung seiner völkerrechtlichen Souveränität wurde Österreich bereits im Dezember 1955 in die Vereinten Nationen aufgenommen und wirkt seither aktiv an deren umfassenden Aufgaben und Aktionen mit. 1956 erfolgte Österreichs Beitritt zum Europarat sowie zur Europäischen Menschenrechtskonvention. 1960 trat Österreich der Europäischen Freihandelsassoziation (EFTA) bei. 1972 schloss Österreich weit reichende Freihandelsverträge mit der Europäischen Gemeinschaft.

Mit dem Ende des Kalten Krieges rückte Österreich von seiner Randlage im demokratischen Europa in das Zentrum eines größeren Europa mit neuen Formen partnerschaftlicher Koexistenz. Österreich reagierte darauf mit einer forcierten Nachbarschaftspolitik und intensiven Bemühungen um einen Beitritt zur Europäischen Gemeinschaft.

Nach dem Zusammenbruch des Kommunismus (1989) intensivierten sich die Beziehungen zu den Ländern Ost- und Südosteuropas. Im Jugosla­wien-Konflikt zu Beginn der neunziger Jahre drängte Österreich mit Deutschland 1991 auf eine rasche Anerkennung von Slowenien und Kroa­tien. Enge wirtschaftliche und politische Beziehungen wurden zu den Nachfolgestaaten des ehemaligen Jugoslawien ebenso wie zu den Staaten Mittel- und Osteuropas aufgebaut.

Vor diesem Hintergrund vollzog Österreich 1995 eine bedeutende Weichen­stellung: Seit 1. Jänner ist Österreich Mitglied der Europäischen Union (EU) so­wie Beobachter bei der Westeuropäischen Union (WEU).

nach oben

Datum: 07.01.2006