.
Skip to content.
Skip to content.
Meetings Calendar 2006
January
.
February
.
March
.
April
.
May
.
June
.
March
  Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su  
 
.
.
1
.
2
.
3
.
4
.
5
.
 
  6
.
7
.
8
.
9
.
10
.
11
.
12
.
 
  13
.
14
.
15
.
16
.
17
.
18
.
19
.
 
  20
.
21
.
22
.
23
.
24
.
25
.
26
.
 
  27
.
28
.
29
.
30
.
31
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Land of Research

 

University ViennaUniversity GrazUniversity Salzburg

 

Quantum physics and molecular biology, applied mathematics and sustainability research, visualisation and materials technologies: The outstanding achievements of researchers across a broad spectrum of disciplines prove that Austria is a land of research and technology development that has earned a place among the European front-runners.

  • The lithium atoms that had been melted to form a giant molecule remained in the aggregate state of a Bose-Einstein condensate for a whole 20 seconds: a global sensation in quantum physics – and it took place at an institute in Innsbruck.
  • On the basis of Kurt Gödel’s sobering insight into the incompleteness of mathematics, researchers are working at the limits of logic seeking new axioms that could contribute to solving at least all meaningful mathematical questions – and they are doing this work at the University of Vienna.
  • At the Olympic Games in Athens in 2004 a new method of analysis that detects the performance-enhancing hormone EPO was used – a method developed in laboratories in Seibersdorf.
  •  And over half the mobile telephones in use throughout the world are fitted with mini-loudspeakers that come from the Vienna-based development department of a multinational corporation.

These four examples of cutting-edge research and technology development from Austria stand for a plethora of outstanding achievements in a wide range of disciplines and research areas: from research into the ageing process to quantum physics, from nanotechnologies to cell analysis. Austria is a land of research and technology development. It is a country that also owes its prosperity and leading economic position among the industrialised nations to its achievements in science and research, its innovative capability and its technological know-how.

Read more

Date: 11.01.2006

.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Tagungskalender 2006
Jänner
.
Februar
.
März
.
April
.
Mai
.
Juni
.
März
  Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So  
 
.
.
1
.
2
.
3
.
4
.
5
.
 
  6
.
7
.
8
.
9
.
10
.
11
.
12
.
 
  13
.
14
.
15
.
16
.
17
.
18
.
19
.
 
  20
.
21
.
22
.
23
.
24
.
25
.
26
.
 
  27
.
28
.
29
.
30
.
31
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Land der Forschung

 

Universität WienUniversität GrazUniversität Salzburg

 

Quantenphysik und Molekularbiologie, angewandte Mathematik und Nachhaltigkeitsforschung, Visualisierung und Werkstofftechnologien: Herausragende Leistungen von Forscherinnen und Forschern in einem breiten Spektrum von Disziplinen weisen Österreich als Land der Forschung und der Technologieentwicklung aus, das sich einen Platz im europäischen Spitzenfeld erarbeitet hat.

  • Ganze 20 Sekunden lang blieben die zu einem Riesenmolekül verschmolzenen Lithium-Atome im Aggregatzustand eines Bose-Einstein-Kondensats: eine Weltsensation in der Quantenphysik – vollbracht an einem Innsbrucker Institut.
  • Auf der Basis von Kurt Gödels ernüchternder Erkenntnis von der Unvollständigkeit der Mathematik wird an der Grenze der Logik nach neuen Axiomen geforscht, die dazu beitragen können, zumindest alle sinnvollen Fragen der Mathematik zu lösen – an der Universität Wien.
  • Bei den Olympischen Spielen in Athen 2004 kam ein neues Verfahren zur Dopinganalyse zum Einsatz, das EPO-Sündern keine Chance lässt – entwickelt in Labors in Seibersdorf.
  • Und etwa die Hälfte der weltweit benutzten Mobiltelefone ist mit Minilautsprechern bestückt, die aus der Wiener Entwicklungsabteilung eines international tätigen Konzerns stammen.

Vier Beispiele für Spitzenforschung und Technologieentwicklung aus Österreich, die stellvertretend stehen für eine Vielzahl von herausragenden Leistungen in einem breiten Spektrum von Disziplinen und Forschungsfeldern: von der Alternsforschung bis zur Quantenphysik, von den Nanotechnologien bis zur Zellanalyse. Österreich ist ein Land der Forschung und der Technologieentwicklung. Es ist ein Land, das seinen Wohlstand und seine ökonomische Spitzenposition unter den Industrieländern auch seinen Leistungen in Wissenschaft und Forschung, seiner Innovationskraft und seinem technologischen Know-how verdankt.

Lesen Sie mehr

Datum: 29.12.2005