.
Skip to content.
Skip to content.
Diary
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Research


Scientific research and technological development (RTD) are playing an ever greater role in the process of economic and social development. The EC Treaty sets out the objectives, rules and procedures for implementing RTD activities. The aim of the EU’s research and technology policy is to coordinate national and European strategies, promote cooperation and networking between researchers, facilitate greater mobility and better career prospects for scientists, and increase the exchange of ideas between the scientific and business communities, in order to boost European competitiveness.

The main aims of Community activities are to strengthen the scientific and technological bases of European industry and its international competitiveness by combining research resources in certain key areas and priority technologies.

Research instruments

The January 2000 Community communication “Towards a European Research Area” states that the EU needs to step up its efforts in research and technology to remain competitive in an increasingly globalised economy. The goals of the Lisbon Strategy reflect the need to boost research and technological development in Europe, so as to “make the European Union the most dynamic and competitive knowledge-based economy in the world”.

The European Commission, the Member States, the European Parliament and the scientific and business communities have pledged to work together to create a European Research Area. The framework programmes for research and technological development are a major tool to create the European Research Area.

top

EU Framework Programme for Research and Technological Development

The Framework Programme for Research and Technological Development is the European Union’s main instrument for supporting research and development. It was proposed by the European Commission and adopted by the Council and the European Parliament in the co-decision procedure. The Framework Programme for Research and Technological Development was introduced in 1984.

Most EU funding for research in Europe at present is being provided through the Sixth Framework Programme (2002-2006). This programme is financing the European Research Area. Its objectives are to:

  • Promote scientific excellence
  • Improve competitiveness and innovation through incentives for increased cooperation
  • Increase complementarity and improve coordination between the players at all levels

top

Priorities of the Austrian Presidency 2006 in the area of research

Seventh Framework Programme

In cooperation with the European Parliament, the Austrian Presidency will make every effort to ensure the Seventh Framework Programme for Research and Technological Development (7th FP) – a central plank of the Lisbon Strategy – starts on schedule. To avoid any interruption between the current framework programme, which ends in 2006, and the new framework programme, all decisions relating to the programme and its implementation (specific programmes, rules for participation, Joint Research Centre and activities planned in accordance with Articles 169 and 171 of the EC Treaty) must be taken before the end of 2006.

3% target

The Austrian Presidency will monitor and drive forward the implementation of the 3% action plan, i.e. investing 3% of gross domestic product in research, as a follow-up to the discussions of the Council at the end of 2005.

ITER

With regard to the planned construction of ITER (International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor) in Cadarache (France), the European Commission is expected to present its proposals in spring 2006 for an international agreement between the parties and for the creation of a European legal personality. The Austrian Presidency will endeavour to get these proposals adopted as quickly as possible.

Space

The European Commission is preparing communications on the European Space Programme and on Global Monitoring for Environment and Security (GMES), which will probably come up for discussion during the Austrian Presidency. Together with Galileo, GMES will form the second pillar of the EU’s user-oriented space policy.

top

Presidency of the Competitiveness Council for Research Topics

As minister responsible for coordinating the EU framework programmes for research in Austria, Federal Minister Elisabeth Gehrer will chair the Competitiveness Council when research topics are on the agenda. Vice-Chancellor Hubert Gorbach will take the chair when space issues are discussed (the Competitiveness Council covers research, the internal market and industry).

At national level, the Federal Ministry for Education, Science and Culture agrees its positions with the other ministries that have a research portfolio (Federal Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology, Federal Ministry for Economics and Labour, and to a certain extent the Federal Ministry for Agriculture, Forestry, Environment and Water Management, Federal Ministry of the Interior, Federal Ministry for Defence, Federal Ministry of Finance, Federal Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Federal Chancellery) and other institutions such as the Austrian Council for Research and Technological Development, the Austrian Research Promotion Agency and the Fund for the Promotion of Scientific Research (FWF).

Links

http://cordis.europa.eu.int/austria
http://www.cordis.europa.eu.int
http://eu2006.bmbwk.gv.at/index_en.htm

 

top

 

Date: 01.02.2006

.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Termine
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Forschung


Wissenschaftliche Forschung und technologische Entwicklung (FTE) spielen bei der wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Entwicklung eine immer größere Rolle. Im Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft sind die Ziele, Vorschriften und Verfahren für die Durchführung von FTE-Aktionen festgelegt. Die Forschungs- und Technologiepolitik der EU verfolgt das Ziel, die einzelstaatlichen mit europäischen Strategien zu koordinieren, die Zusammenarbeit und Vernetzung von Forschenden zu fördern, eine größere Mobilität und bessere Karrierechancen von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern zu ermöglichen sowie den Austausch von Ideen zwischen Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft zu erhöhen, um die europäische Wettbewerbsfähigkeit zu stärken.

Wichtige Ziele der Gemeinschaftsmaßnahmen sind die Stärkung der wissenschaftlichen und technologischen Grundlagen der europäischen Industrie und ihrer internationalen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit, indem die Forschungsressourcen in bestimmten Schlüsselbereichen und vorrangigen Technologien gebündelt werden.

Forschungsinstrumente

In der Mitteilung der Kommission „Hin zu einem europäischen Forschungsraum" vom Jänner 2000 wurde festgestellt, dass die EU ihre Anstrengungen im Bereich der Forschung und Technologie verbessern muss, um in einer immer stärker globalisierten Wirtschaft wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben. Mit den Zielen der Lissabon-Strategie wurde zum Ausdruck gebracht, dass die Forschung und technologische Entwicklung in Europa gestärkt werden müssen, um „…die Union zum wettbewerbsfähigsten und dynamischsten wissensbasierten Wirtschaftsraum der Welt zu machen“.

Die Europäische Kommission, die Mitgliedsstaaten und das Europäische Parlament sowie Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft haben sich zur Zusammenarbeit bei der Schaffung eines Europäischen Forschungsraums verpflichtet. Die Rahmenprogramme für Forschung und Technologieentwicklung sind das wichtigste Instrument für die Umsetzung des Europäischen Forschungsraums.

nach oben

EU-Rahmenprogramme für Forschung und Technologieentwicklung

Das Rahmenprogramm für Forschung und Technologie ist das Hauptinstrument der Europäischen Union zur Subventionierung von Forschung und Entwicklung. Das Rahmenprogramm wird von der Europäischen Kommission vorgeschlagen und vom Rat gemeinsam mit dem Europäischen Parlament im Rahmen des Mitentscheidungsverfahrens beschlossen. Eingeführt wurde das Rahmenprogramm für Forschung und Technologie im Jahr 1984.

Das zentrale Instrument der Europäischen Union für die Finanzierung der Forschung in Europa ist zurzeit das Sechste Rahmenprogramm (2002-2006). Dieses Programm stellt die Finanzierung des Europäischen Forschungsraumes sicher. Die Ziele sind:

  • Förderung wissenschaftlicher Spitzenleistung
  • Verbesserte Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Innovation durch Impulse für verstärkte Zusammenarbeit
  • Größere Komplementarität und verbesserte Koordinierung zwischen den betreffenden Akteuren auf allen Ebenen

nach oben

Schwerpunkte der österreichischen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft 2006 im Bereich Forschung

7. Forschungsrahmenprogramm

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Europäischen Parlament wird die österreichische Ratspräsidentschaft alle Anstrengungen unternehmen, um einen zeitgerechten Start des 7. Rahmenprogrammes für Forschung und technologische Entwicklung (7. RP), das ein zentraler Bestandteil der Lissabon-Strategie ist, sicherzustellen. Um eine Unterbrechung zwischen dem derzeitigen Rahmenprogramm, das mit Ende 2006 ausläuft, und dem neuen Rahmenprogramm zu vermeiden, müssen alle Entscheidungen, die das Rahmenprogramm selbst und die begleitenden Implementierungsentscheidungen betreffen (Spezifische Programme, Beteiligungsregeln, Gemeinsame Forschungsstelle und geplante Aktivitäten nach Artikel 169 und 171 des EG-Vertrags), rechtzeitig vor Ende 2006 getroffen werden.

3% Ziel

Die österreichische Ratspräsidentschaft wird die Implementierung des 3%-Aktionsplans, das heißt 3% des Bruttoinlandproduktes in Forschung zu investieren, beobachten und vorantreiben. Dieser Prozess wird den Diskussionen des Rates dazu folgen, die dieser bis Ende 2005 führen wird.

ITER

Es wird erwartet, dass die Europäische Kommission bezüglich des ITER (International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor), der in Cadarache (Frankreich) errichtet werden soll, im Frühjahr 2006 ihre Vorschläge für ein internationales Abkommen zwischen den teilnehmenden Parteien und für die Schaffung einer europäischen Rechtspersönlichkeit vorlegt. Die österreichische Ratspräsidentschaft wird sich um eine rasche Annahme dieser Vorschläge bemühen.

Weltraum

Die Europäische Kommission plant Mitteilungen zum European Space Programme und zu GMES (Global Monitoring for Environment and Security), die während der österreichischen Ratspräsidentschaft voraussichtlich zu behandeln sein könnten. GMES soll neben Galileo die zweite Säule einer nutzungsorientierten Weltraumpolitik der EU werden.

nach oben

Vorsitz im Rat Wettbewerbsfähigkeit bei Forschungsthemen

Als zuständige Ministerin für die Koordination der Forschungsrahmenprogramme der EU in Österreich wird Bundesministerin Elisabeth Gehrer den Vorsitz im Rat Wettbewerbsfähigkeit führen, wenn dort Forschungsthemen auf der Tagesordnung stehen. Soweit Weltraumthemen im Rat Wettbewerbsfähigkeit behandelt werden, wird Vizekanzler Hubert Gorbach den Vorsitz innehaben (die Ratsformation Wettbewerbsfähigkeit umfasst die Bereiche Forschung, Binnenmarkt und Industrie).

Auf nationaler Ebene stimmt das Bundesministerium für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Kultur die Positionen mit den anderen ebenfalls mit Forschung befassten Ministerien (Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie, Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Arbeit, teilweise auch Bundesministerium für Land- und Forstwirtschaft, Umwelt und Wasserwirtschaft, Bundesministerium für Inneres, Bundesministerium für Landesverteidigung, Bundesministerium für Finanzen, Bundesministerium für Auswärtige Angelegenheiten, Bundeskanzleramt) sowie anderen Institutionen wie dem Rat für Forschungs- und Technologieentwicklung, der Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft oder dem Fonds zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung ab.

Links:

http://www.cordis.europa.eu.int/austria/home_de.html
http://cordis.europa.eu.int/de/home.html
http://eu2006.bmbwk.gv.at

 

nach oben

 

Datum: 01.02.2006