.
Skip to content.
Skip to content.
Diary
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

EU Budget and Budgetary Controls


There are three main components of the EU budget system: firstly, the financial perspective, which determines the medium-term expenditure ceiling; secondly, the own resources decision, which governs the amount and structure of revenue in the EU budget; and thirdly, the annual budget, which allocates the budget appropriations to the individual budget headings.

The financial perspective was introduced at the end of the 1980s. As the frame of reference for the annual budgetary procedure, it ensures that the growth of expenditure is controlled and that the structure of expenditure is balanced at Community level. The financial perspective sets the ceiling for both overall expenditure and the individual expenditure areas. The latter include, among others, the Common Agricultural Policy and the Structural and Cohesion Policy, internal and external policies and administrative expenditure. The current financial perspective covers the years 2000-2006.

The own resources decision governs the financing of the EU budget. The current own resources decision fixes the upper limit of revenue at 1.24 % of the Community's Gross National Income (GNI). This revenue essentially comprises four components: customs duties and agricultural levies, which make up the traditional own resources, and contributions calculated on the basis of the national VAT base and on GNI. In the mid-1980s, the United Kingdom was granted a specific correction mechanism with regard to payments to the EU budget (UK rebate).

Actual expenditure and its allocation to the individual budget headings are decided in the annual budget. The expenditure ceilings for the individual headings agreed in the financial perspective must not be exceeded. The preparation of the annual budget is a complicated procedure, which begins with the submission by the Commission of a preliminary budget draft in April and ends with the formal adoption of the budget by the European Parliament in December. The intervening period is taken up with intensive consultations in the Council and European Parliament, which have shared responsibilities and together constitute the EU budgetary authority.

Under the EU Treaty, the Council has the final say on compulsory expenditure and the Parliament (in addition to formally adopting the budget) decides on non-compulsory expenditure. The former relates to expenditure resulting from the Treaty or from a legal act adopted on the basis of the Treaty, such as expenditure under the Common Agricultural Policy. Non-compulsory expenditure is expenditure that does not result from the Treaty or from a legal act adopted on the basis of the Treaty, such as expenditure under the Structural and Cohesion Policy and expenditure on research.

The European Court of Auditors presents an annual report on the implementation of the budget and issues a statement of assurance on the soundness of financial management and on the legality and regularity of the transactions. The audit report and statement of assurance form the basis for the final discharge of the Commission which, under the EU Treaty, is responsible for implementing the budget. The European Parliament gives the Commission the final discharge for execution of the budget, following a corresponding Council recommendation.

 

Date: 22.12.2005

.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Termine
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

EU-Haushalt und Haushaltskontrolle


Der EU-Haushalt wird vor allem durch drei Elemente bestimmt: Erstens, durch die Finanzielle Vorausschau, durch die der mittelfristige Ausgabenrahmen festgelegt wird; zweitens, durch den Eigenmittelbeschluss, der die Höhe und Struktur der Einnahmen im EU-Haushalt regelt; und drittens, durch den jährlichen Haushaltsplan, der die Aufteilung der Haushaltsmittel auf die einzelnen Haushaltslinien festlegt.

Die Finanzielle Vorausschau wurde Ende der 80er Jahre eingeführt. Indem sie den Bezugsrahmen für das jährliche Haushaltsverfahren darstellt, sichert sie ein kontrolliertes Ausgabenwachstum und eine ausgewogene Ausgabenstruktur auf Gemeinschaftsebene. Die Finanzielle Vorausschau legt sowohl den Plafonds für die Gesamtausgaben als auch für die einzelnen Ausgabenbereiche fest. Letztere umfassen u.a. die Gemeinsame Agrarpolitik sowie die Struktur- und Kohäsionspolitik, die internen und externen Politiken sowie die Verwaltungsausgaben. Die derzeit gültige Finanzielle Vorrauschau bezieht sich auf die Jahre 2000-2006.

Durch den Eigenmittelbeschluss wird die Finanzierung des EU-Haushaltes geregelt. Der derzeit gültige Eigenmittelbeschluss legt die Obergrenze der Einnahmen mit 1,24 % des gemeinschaftlichen Bruttonationaleinkommens fest. Diese Einnahmen setzen sich im Wesentlichen aus vier Komponenten zusammen: Aus Zöllen und Agrarabschöpfungen, die die traditionellen Eigenmittel bilden, sowie aus Anteilen, die sich einerseits auf Grundlage der nationalen Mehrwertsteuer-Bemessungsgrundlagen und anderseits auf Grundlage der Bruttonationaleinkommen berechnen. Dem Vereinigten Königreich wurde Mitte der 80er Jahre eine Sonderregelung bei der Finanzierung des EU-Haushaltes eingeräumt („Briten-Rabatt“).

Die tatsächlichen Ausgaben und ihre Aufteilung auf die einzelnen Haushaltslinien werden im jährlichen Haushaltsplan festgelegt. Dabei dürfen die in der Finanziellen Vorausschau vereinbarten Obergrenzen für die einzelnen Ausgabenkategorien nicht überschritten werden. Die Erstellung des Jahreshaushaltes erfolgt nach einem komplizierten Verfahren, das mit der Vorlage eines Haushaltsvorentwurfs durch die Kommission bereits im April beginnt und mit der formellen Annahme des Haushaltsplans durch das Europäische Parlament im Dezember endet. Dazwischen liegen intensive Beratungen sowohl im Rat als auch im Europäischen Parlament, die mit geteilten Zuständigkeiten ausgestattet sind und die gemeinsam die Haushaltsbehörde der Europäischen Union bilden.

Aufgrund des EG-V hat der Rat bei den obligatorischen Ausgaben und das Parlament - neben der formellen Beschlussfassung des Haushaltsplans - bei den nicht-obligatorischen Ausgaben das letzte Wort. Erstere betreffen Ausgaben, die sich zwingend aus dem Vertrag oder aus einem aufgrund des Vertrages erlassenen Rechtsakt ergeben, wie z.B. Ausgaben im Rahmen der Agrarpolitik. Letztere betreffen hingegen Ausgaben, die sich nicht zwingend aus dem Vertrag oder aus einem aufgrund des Vertrages erlassenen Rechtsakt ergeben, wie z.B. Ausgaben im Rahmen der Struktur- und Kohäsionspolitik oder der Forschungspolitik.

Über die Ausführung des Haushaltsplans legt der Europäische Rechnungshof jährlich einen Prüfbericht sowie eine Erklärung über die Zuverlässigkeit der Rechnungsführung sowie der Rechtmäßigkeit und Ordnungsmäßigkeit der Zahlungsvorgänge vor. Der Prüfbericht und die Zuverlässigkeitserklärung bilden die Grundlage für die Entlastung der Kommission, die gemäß EG-V für die Ausführung des Haushaltsplans zuständig ist. Über die Entlastung der Kommission entscheidet das Europäische Parlament, wobei vom Rat zuvor eine entsprechende Empfehlung ergeht.

 

Datum: 19.12.2005