.
Skip to content.
Skip to content.
Diary
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Economic and Financial Affairs

Karl-Heinz Grasser
Karl-Heinz Grasser
Federal Minister of Finance
  

The Finance Ministers of the 25 EU Member States are represented at the Economic and Financial Affairs Council (Ecofin Council), one of the oldest Council configurations. The Finance Ministers of Romania and Bulgaria are already actively participating as observers pending their countries’ accession to the EU. The Ecofin Council meets formally once a month, in either Brussels or Luxembourg, and informally once every six months in the country holding the Presidency. Before the Ecofin meetings, the Finance Ministers of the countries whose currency is the euro meet informally (Eurogroup) to discuss economic and budgetary policy issues relating to the common currency area and the external representation of the euro area.

The informal meeting of the Economics and Finance Ministers during the Austrian Presidency will take place in Vienna on 7 and 8 April 2006. It will be followed by a meeting with the Finance Ministers of the ASEAN countries, China, Japan and the Republic of Korea (“ASEM Finance Ministers’ Meeting") on 8 and 9 April.

Ecofin Council Work programme: PDF

Information from the Federal Ministry of Finance: http://eu2006.bmf.gv.at/en/

ASEM Finance Ministers' Meeting

ASEM (Asia-Europe Meeting) provides a platform for an informal dialogue of 39 equal partners. These are currently the 25 EU Member States and the European Commission; the ASEAN Member Countries Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar/Burma, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam; and China, Japan and the Republic of Korea. The general aim of the ASEM process, which began in 1996, is to strengthen political, economic and cultural relations between Europe and Asia.

Austria as Presidency will host the seventh ASEM Finance Ministers’ Meeting in Vienna. The Ministers will discuss the international economic situation, with particular emphasis on current challenges such as the situation on the oil markets and the continuing great global imbalances, and specific initiatives to deepen cooperation between Europe and Asia. Another key topic will be the structural changes resulting from the international division of labour and the economic challenges they pose to Europe and Asia. The aim of this discussion is to develop specific policy conclusions to ensure that globalisation is a success for all the partners in the long term. This topic is particularly relevant in view of the dynamic development in East Asia, South-East Asia and North Asia.

The ASEM Finance Ministers’ Meeting will be held on 8 and 9 April 2006. It will be preceded by a preparatory meeting of experts in Vienna at the end of January.

Website for the ASEM Finance Ministers' Meeting

 

More information about the work of the Ecofin Council:

 

Date: 31.03.2006

.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Termine
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Wirtschaft und Finanzen

Mag. Karl-Heinz Grasser, Bundesminister für Finanzen
Mag. Karl-Heinz Grasser
Bundesminister für Finanzen
  

Im Rat Wirtschaft und Finanzen (Ecofin-Rat) – einer der ältesten Ratsformationen - sind die Finanzminister der 25 EU-Mitgliedstaaten vertreten, die Finanzminister Rumäniens und Bulgariens nehmen bis zum Beitritt der beiden Staaten bereits als aktive Beobachter teil. Der Ecofin-Rat tagt formell einmal pro Monat in Brüssel oder Luxemburg und informell einmal pro Halbjahr im Land der Präsidentschaft. Vor den Tagungen des Ecofin-Rates finden Treffen der Finanzminister aus den Euro-Teilnehmerstaaten (Euro-Gruppe) statt, wo im informellen Rahmen wirtschafts- und budgetpolitische Fragen des gemeinsamen Währungsraumes sowie der Euro-Außenvertretung erörtert werden.

Das informelle Treffen der Wirtschafts- und Finanzminister unter österreichischer Präsidentschaft findet am 7./8. April in Wien statt. Im Anschluss daran steht am 8./9. April ein Treffen mit den Finanzministern der ASEAN-Staaten sowie der Volksrepublik China, Japan und die Republik Korea ("ASEM Finanzministertreffen") auf dem Programm.

Arbeitsprogramm des Ecofin-Rates: PDF

Website des Bundesministeriums für Finanzen: http://eu2006.bmf.gv.at

 

ASEM Finanzministertreffen:

ASEM (Asia-Europe-Meeting) ist ein informelles Dialogforum von 39 gleichberechtigten Partnern. Teilnehmer sind derzeit die 25 EU-Staaten und die Europäische Kommission sowie die ASEAN-Staaten Brunei, Indonesien, Kambodscha, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar/Burma, Philippinen, Singapur, Thailand und Vietnam sowie China, Japan und die Republik Korea. Generelles Ziel des seit 1996 bestehenden ASEM-Prozess ist die Vertiefung der Beziehungen zwischen Europa und Asien in den Bereichen Politik, Wirtschaft und Kultur.

Österreich lädt im Rahmen seiner EU-Ratspräsidentschaft zum siebenten Treffen der ASEM Finanzminister nach Wien ein. Im Rahmen dieses Treffens werden die Weltwirtschaftslage unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der aktuellen Herausforderungen, wie die Lage auf den Ölmärkten und die weiterhin hohen globalen Ungleichgewichte, sowie konkrete Initiativen zur Vertiefung der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Europa und Asien behandelt. Ein weiterer Themenschwerpunkt werden die Strukturveränderungen aufgrund der internationalen Arbeitsteilung und die sich daraus ergebenden wirtschaftspolitischen Herausforderungen für Europa und Asien sein. Ziel dieser Diskussion ist die Entwicklung konkreter Politikschlussfolgerungen, damit die Globalisierung für alle beteiligten Partner zu einem nachhaltigen Erfolg wird. Angesichts der dynamischen Entwicklung in Ost-, Südost- und Nordasien kommt diesem Thema besondere Aktualität zu.

Das ASEM Finanzminister Treffen findet am 8. und 9. April 2006 statt. Ende Jänner findet, ebenfalls in Wien, ein Vorbereitungstreffen auf Expertenebene statt.

Website für das ASEM Finanzministertreffen

 

Weitere Informationen zu den Schwerpunkten des Ecofin-Rates:

 

Datum: 31.03.2006