.
Skip to content.
Skip to content.
Diary
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Consumer Affairs

 

The new EU strategy for health and consumer protection

The European Union aims to ensure a high level of consumer protection and bases its strategy in this regard on Article 153 (consumer protection) and Article 95 (internal market) of the EC Treaty. The Treaty stipulates that consumer protection, because of its horizontal nature, must be taken into account in other policy areas. The key legal acts here are the directives on product safety, product liability, misleading and comparative advertising, canvassing, consumer credit, package travel, abusive contract terms, time shares, distance selling, price display, injunctions, guarantees, distance selling of financial services and dishonest business practices.

In May 2001, the European Commission adopted the latest Consumer Policy Strategy for 2002-2006, in which the overall concept and the three core objectives of European consumer protection policy are set out:

  • uniformly high level of consumer protection in the entire EU
  • effective implementation of consumer protection regulations, especially the implementation of cooperation among authorities to put a stop to cross-border violations
  • involvement of consumer organisations in EU policy

This strategy is backed by a general framework for financing Community actions to support consumer policy in the 2004-2007 period, which makes available a total of EUR 72 million for the implementation of these objectives in support of European and national consumer groups.

Projects during the Austrian EU Presidency

The 2006 Austrian Presidency will work on the follow-up strategy, the proposal for a decision on a Community action programme in the field of health and consumer protection 2007-2013, for which the proposal by the European Commission was presented in April 2005.

The Commission's proposal is designed to use the existing synergies in these two areas more efficiently in the new period 2007-2013, to make the distribution of funds more efficient, and to simplify administration.

The proposal defines both joint objectives for the areas of health and consumer protection (e.g. protection of citizens against risks and dangers which are beyond the control of individuals, increase the ability of citizens to make better decisions, mainstreaming of all health and consumer policy objectives across all Community policies) and specific objectives for the individual areas.

The objectives for consumer protection are:

  • better understanding of consumers and markets
  • better regulation of consumer protection
  • better enforcement, monitoring and redress
  • better informed and educated consumers

The creation of a new consumer protection department in the Executive Agency for Public Health to implement the action programme is an important innovation. Funding of EUR 1.2 billion is planned for the action programme, which corresponds to a tripling of the funds for health and a doubling of the resources for consumer protection. The Austrian Presidency will endeavour to bring these negotiations to a successful conclusion.

top

The new Consumer Credit Directive

To expand the protection of consumer interests when entering into credit and insurance contracts, the European Commission presented a new draft directive in September 2002 on amending the Consumer Credit Directive, which has, however, recently been revised by the European Commission because of the numerous amendments proposed by the European Parliament.

The proposal includes regulations on pre-contract information, obligatory content of contracts, the principle of responsible granting of credit on the basis of the information provided by the credit applicant, a right to cancel, etc. Controversial issues include the numerous exemptions from the scope, the cancellation of the requirement for credit contracts to be in writing and the absence of any cancellation right for loans that were entered into in the presence of a notary.

Projects during the Austrian EU Presidency

The objective of ensuring optimal consumer protection in the sensitive area of credit throughout Europe will have high priority during the Austrian Presidency.

top

 

Date: 05.05.2006

.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Termine
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Verbraucherschutz

 

Die neue Strategie der EU für Gesundheit und Verbraucherschutz

Die Europäische Union strebt die Gewährleistung eines hohen Verbraucherschutzniveaus an und stützt ihre diesbezüglichen Maßnahmen auf Artikel 153 (Verbraucherschutz) und 95 (Binnenmarkt) des EG-Vertrages. Im Vertrag ist festgelegt, dass der Verbraucherschutz aufgrund seines Querschnittscharakters in anderen Politikbereichen zu berücksichtigen ist. Die wesentlichen Rechtsakte sind die Richtlinien über Produktsicherheit, Produkthaftung, irreführende und vergleichende Werbung, Haustürgeschäfte, Verbraucherkredit, Pauschalreisen, missbräuchliche Vertragsklauseln, Teilnutzungsrechte, Fernabsatz, Preisauszeichnung, Unterlassungsklagen, Gewährleistung, Fernabsatz von Finanzdienstleistungen und unlautere Geschäftspraktiken.

Im Mai 2001 verabschiedete die Europäische Kommission die jüngste Verbraucherpolitische Strategie für 2002 – 2006, in der das Gesamtkonzept und die drei Kernziele der europäischen Verbraucherschutzpolitik festgelegt werden:

  • Gleichmäßig hohes Verbraucherschutzniveau in der gesamten EU
  • Wirksame Durchsetzung der Rechtsvorschriften zum Schutz der VerbraucherInnen, insbesondere die Realisierung einer Kooperation der Behörden zur Abstellung grenzüberschreitender Verstöße
  • Einbeziehung der Verbraucherverbände in die EU-Politik

Flankiert wird diese Strategie von einem allgemeinen Rahmen für die Finanzierung von Gemeinschaftsmaßnahmen zur Unterstützung der Verbraucherpolitik im Zeitraum 2004 – 2007, der zur Umsetzung dieser Ziele insgesamt 72 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung stellt und damit europäische und nationale Verbraucherschutzverbände finanziell unterstützt.

Vorhaben unter österreichischer EU-Ratspräsidentschaft

Die österreichische Präsidentschaft 2006 wird sich maßgeblich mit der Nachfolgeregelung, dem Vorschlag für einen Beschluss über ein Aktionsprogramm der Gemeinschaft in den Bereichen Gesundheit und Verbraucherschutz 2007-2013 auseinandersetzen, für die seit April 2005 der Vorschlag der Europäischen Kommission vorliegt.

Mit diesem Vorschlag möchte die Europäische Kommission im neuen Zeitraum 2007 – 2013 bestehende Synergien dieser beiden Bereiche besser nützen, die Mittelverteilung effizienter gestalten, sowie die Verwaltung vereinfachen.

Der Vorschlag definiert sowohl gemeinsame Ziele für die Bereiche Gesundheit und Verbraucherschutz (z.B. Schutz der BürgerInnen vor Risiken und Gefahren, auf die der einzelne keinen Einfluss hat, Stärkung der Entscheidungsfähigkeit der BürgerInnen, Einbeziehung aller Ziele der Gesundheits- und Verbraucherpolitik in alle Bereiche der Gemeinschaftspolitik), als auch spezifische Ziele für die einzelnen Bereiche.

Ziele im Bereich Verbraucherschutz sind:

  • besseres Verständnis von VerbraucherInnen und Märkten
  • bessere Regelung des Verbraucherschutzes
  • bessere Durchsetzung, Überwachung und besserer Rechtsschutz
  • bessere Information und Weiterbildung

Als weitere wichtige Neuerung soll für die Umsetzung des Aktionsprogramms eine neue Verbraucherschutzabteilung im Rahmen der Exekutivagentur für öffentliche Gesundheit geschaffen werden. Das Aktionsprogramm wird voraussichtlich mit 1,2 Milliarden Euro dotiert sein, was einer Verdreifachung der Mittel für den Gesundheitsbereich und einer Verdoppelung für den Verbraucherschutzbereich entspricht. Die österreichische Präsidentschaft wird sich um eine produktive Fortsetzung und einen Abschluss der diesbezüglichen Verhandlungen bemühen.

nach oben

Die neue Richtlinie zum Verbraucherkredit

Zur Erweiterung des Schutzes der Verbraucherinteressen beim Abschluss von Kreditverträgen und Sicherungsverträgen legte die Europäische Kommission bereits im September 2002 einen neuen Richtlinienvorschlag zur Abänderung der Verbraucherkreditrichtlinie vor, der aber derzeit aufgrund zahlreicher Abänderungsanträge des Europäischen Parlamentes neuerlich von der Europäischen Kommission überarbeitet wird.

Der Vorschlag enthält unter anderem Informationsvorschriften vor der Vertragserklärung, verpflichtende Inhalte den Vertrag betreffend, das Prinzip der verantwortungsvollen Kreditvergabe auf Basis der Informationen des Kreditwerbers, ein Rücktrittsrecht usw. Die strittigen Bereiche liegen bei großzügigen Ausnahmen vom Anwendungsbereich, der Streichung des Schriftlichkeitsgebotes bei Kreditverträgen oder dem nicht vorgesehene Rücktrittsrecht für Kredite, die unter Beiziehung eines Notars abgeschlossen werden.

Vorhaben unter österreichischer EU-Ratspräsidentschaft

Das Ziel, in ganz Europa einen optimalen Schutz der Verbraucherinnen und Verbraucher in dem so sensiblen Kreditbereich zu gewährleisten, wird im Rahmen der österreichischen Präsidentschaft mit höchster Priorität behandelt werden.

nach oben

 

Datum: 28.12.2005