.
Skip to content.
Skip to content.
Diary
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

The Sixth Environment Action Programme


Air

The objectives of the air-quality strategy are to update quality targets based on current data on effects on health and future projections for pollution, to assess the effectiveness of current provisions and draw up an integrated strategy.

Waste

As part of its waste strategy, the European Commission is planning to revise the framework directive on waste. The directive is over 30 years old and its definitions need to be harmonised with more modern legal acts. There is also a need to clarify the definitions and exemptions, the use of state-of-the-art technology, separate collection, waste prevention and the waste management plan.

Natural Ressources

The aim of the strategy on resources is to create a framework that will permit the sustainable use of resources without harming the environment and at the same time ensure that the Lisbon goals are achieved. This strategy should be coherent with the integrated product policy and the waste strategy, and presented at the same time as the latter.

Marine Environment

With regard to the marine environment, we must ensure that present and future generations are able to benefit from the biological diversity of safe, clean, healthy and productive seas. For this reason the European Commission has drawn up a proposal for legislation defining three regions (Baltic Sea, North-East Atlantic Ocean and Mediterranean Sea) for which Member States must draw up action plans and programmes within various timeframes. On the basis of an initial assessment, the characteristics of a good environmental status must be determined, environmental targets set and monitoring programmes established.

Pesticides

The objective of the pesticides strategy is to achieve a more sustainable use of pesticides, and a significant reduction in both the risk and the use of pesticides compatible with plant protection requirements. Current Commission thinking involves revising an existing Directive concerning the placing of plant protection products on the market and introducing a new framework directive on sustainable use of pesticides.

Soil

Soil, like water and air, is a finite resource and must therefore be protected from risks such as erosion, decline in organic matter, contamination, salinisation, sealing, and loss of biodiversity. The European Commission is currently considering whether it should propose a soil framework directive to address these problems.

Urban Environment

The aim of the urban environment strategy is to improve the environmental performance and quality of life in urban areas, to ensure a healthy living environment and to reinforce the environmental contribution to sustainable urban development. These objectives are to be achieved through sustainable design and measures in the fields of urban policy, urban transport, construction, urban design, and promoting good practice.

back

 

Date: 30.12.2005

.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Termine
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

6. Umweltaktionsprogramm


Luft

Ziele der Luftstrategie sind u. a. die Aktualisierung von Qualitätszielen, basierend auf aktuellen Daten über Gesundheitsauswirkungen und Prognosen der künftigen Belastungssituation, die Evaluierung der Wirksamkeit  bestehender Regelungen und  die Entwicklung einer integrierten Strategie mit Entwicklung effizienter struktureller Verknüpfungen zur Politik in anderen Sektoren.

Abfall

Im Rahmen der Abfallstrategie plant die EK eine Revision der Abfallrahmenrichtlinie. Dies ist insbesondere notwendig, um die Definitionen der mehr als 30 Jahre alten Richtlinie mit moderneren Rechtsakten in Einklang zu bringen. Andere Klarstellungen betreffen Definitionen und Ausnahmen, die Anwendung des Standes der Technik, die getrennte Sammlung, Abfallvermeidung und der Abfallbewirtschaftungsplan.

Natürliche Ressourcen

Ziel der Ressourcen-Strategie ist die Schaffung eines Rahmens, der die nachhaltige Nutzung von Ressourcen erlaubt, ohne der Umwelt zu schaden und gleichzeitig die Erreichung der Lissabon-Ziele sicherzustellen. Die Ressourcen-Strategie soll kohärent zur integrierten Produktpolitik und zur Abfallstrategie gestaltet werden und gleichzeitig mit dieser vorgelegt werden.

Meeresumwelt

Im Bereich der Meeresumwelt gilt es sicherzustellen, dass auch zukünftige Generationen von der biologischen Vielfalt der Meere profitieren können und dass diese sicher, sauber, gesund und produktiv sind. Dazu hat die EK auch einen Legislativvorschlag vorgelegt, in dem drei Regionen definiert (Ostsee, Nordostatlantik und Mittelmeer) wurden, für die die Mitgliedsstaaten innerhalb unterschiedlicher Zeitrahmen Maßnahmenpläne und –programme  erstellen müssen. Basierend auf einer Anfangsbewertung müssen der gute Umweltzustand beschrieben, Umweltziele festgelegt und Überwachungsprogramme erarbeitet werden.

Pestizide

Ziel der Pestizid-Strategie ist ein nachhaltigerer Einsatz von Pestiziden, sowie eine bedeutsame Reduktion des Risikos und des Gebrauchs von Pestiziden im Einklang mit den  Notwendigkeiten des Pflanzenschutzes. Die derzeitigen Überlegungen der EK umfassen die  Neugestaltung einer bestehenden Richtlinie über das Inverkehrbringen von Pflanzenschutzmitteln und eine neue Rahmen-Richtlinie über den nachhaltigen Gebrauch von Pestiziden.

Boden

Boden ist genauso wie Wasser und Luft eine endliche Ressource und daher u. a. vor folgenden Gefahren zu schützen: Erosion, Rückgang der organischen Substanz, Kontamination, Versalzung, Versiegelung, Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt. Derzeit denkt die Europäische Kommission daran, eine Rahmen-Richtlinie zum Boden vorzuschlagen, die die genannten Probleme einer Lösung zuführt.

Städtische Umwelt

Ziel der Strategie zur städtischen Umwelt ist die Verbesserung der Umwelteffizienz und Lebensqualität in städtischen Gebieten, die Gewährleistung eines gesunden Lebensumfeldes und die Stärkung des ökologischen Beitrags zur nachhaltigen städtischen Entwicklung.  Erreicht werden soll dies durch eine nachhaltige Gestaltung und Maßnahmen in den Themenbereichen Städtepolitik, städtischer Verkehr, Bauen, Stadtgestaltung, sowie der Förderung von Good-Practice-Anwendungen.

zurück

Datum: 22.12.2005