.
Skip to content.
Skip to content.
Diary
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Transport, Telecommunications and Energy


Hubert Gorbach
Vice-Chancellor and Federal Minister for Transport, Innovation and Technology

Martin Bartenstein
Federal Minister for Economics and Labour
 

Meetings of the Transport, Telecommunications and Energy Council during the Austrian Presidency of the Council of the EU will be chaired by Federal Minister Hubert Gorbach (Transport, Telecommunications) or Federal Minister Martin Bartenstein (Energy), depending on the specialist subject.

Transport, telecommunications and energy play a key role in the EU in achieving long-term economic growth and employment, as well as the economic and social cohesion of the regions. In this context, it is essential to create modern, efficient infrastructures which are sustainable from the environmental, social and economic viewpoint, and this is one of the EU's priorities.

The Transport, Telecommunications and Energy Council is responsible for the development and coordination of policy in these fields at Community level. The Council has met in this composition since June 2002. There are four meetings per year, two of which handle energy issues (May and December). Depending on the agenda, the Ministers from EU Member States responsible for Transport, Telecommunications or Energy respectively take part in the meetings. Preparation of the Council meetings is carried out by the various Council working groups.

In the transport field, these Council working groups deal, for example, with land transport, aviation, maritime transport and horizontal, multi-modal issues. The introduction of the European satellite navigation system (GALILEO), which is designed for civil use, is one of the current key topics for the Council. Since the 1990s, the Council has been working intensively on building trans-European transport, energy and telecommunication networks, and has adopted a series of legislative texts on this subject.  

During the Austrian Presidency, meetings are scheduled in Brussels on 27-28 March 2006 and in Luxembourg on 8-9 June 2006. The issues to be dealt with depend on the previous work by the UK Presidency and on the European Commission’s initiatives. Furthermore, on the initiative of Austria, an informal meeting of EU Transport Ministers will be held in Bregenz (Vorarlberg) on 2-3 March 2006 on the theme of road safety.

More information about the work of the Transport, Telecommunications and Energy Council:

Date: 31.03.2006

.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Direkt zum Inhalt.
Termine
Service
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Verkehr, Telekommunikation und Energie


Hubert Gorbach
Vizekanzler und Bundesminister für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie

Dr. Martin Bartenstein
Bundesminister für Wirtschaft und Arbeit
 

Während des österreichischen EU-Ratsvorsitzes führen in der Ratsformation Verkehr, Telekommunikation und Energie je nach Fachbereich Bundesminister Hubert Gorbach (Verkehr, Telekommunikation) bzw. Bundesminister Martin Bartenstein (Energie) den Vorsitz.

Verkehr, Telekommunikation und Energie spielen eine Schlüsselrolle in der EU bei der Erzielung von langfristigem Wirtschaftswachstum und Beschäftigung, sowie für den wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Zusammenhalt in den Regionen. In diesem Zusammenhang ist die Schaffung von modernen und leistungsfähigen Infrastrukturen, die im ökologischen, sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Sinne nachhaltig sind, unabdingbar und ein Hauptziel der EU.

Der Rat Verkehr, Telekommunikation und Energie ist für die Entwicklung und Koordination der Politik in diesen Bereichen auf Gemeinschaftsebene zuständig. Der Rat besteht in dieser Formation seit Juni 2002. Es finden jährlich vier Tagungen statt, von denen sich zwei auch mit Energiethemen beschäftigen (Mai und Dezember). Je nach Tagesordnungsinhalt nehmen die für Verkehr, Telekommunikation oder Energie zuständigen Minister der EU-Mitgliedsstaaten daran teil. Die Vorbereitung für die Ratstagungen erfolgt durch die verschiedenen Ratsarbeitsgruppen.

Im Verkehrsbereich beschäftigen sich diese Ratsarbeitsgruppen zum Beispiel mit Landverkehr, Luftverkehr, Seeverkehr und horizontalen, verkehrsträgerübergreifenden Fragen. Ein Hauptthema des Rates bildet unter anderem die Einführung des europäischen Satellitennavigationssystems (GALILEO), das für eine zivile Nutzung konzipiert ist. Seit den 90er Jahren beschäftigt sich der Rat auch intensiv mit dem Aufbau der transeuropäischen Verkehrs-, Energie- und Telekommunikationsnetze und hat dazu eine Reihe von Rechtsakten verabschiedet.

Während des österreichischen Vorsitzes sind Ratstagungen für 27. – 28. März 2006 in Brüssel und von 8. – 9. Juni 2006 in Luxemburg geplant. Die zu behandelnden Dossiers sind einerseits von den Vorarbeiten der Präsidentschaft des Vereinigten Königreichs sowie von den Initiativen der Europäischen Kommission abhängig. Darüber hinaus wird auf Initiative Österreichs ein informelles Treffen der EU-Verkehrsminister von 2. – 3. März 2006 in Bregenz (Vorarlberg) zum Thema Straßenverkehrssicherheit abgehalten werden.

Weitere Informationen zur Arbeit des Rates Verkehr, Telekommunikation und Energie:

 

Datum: 31.03.2006